MozillaZine

FF 60.0

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Richard1296
 
Posts: 56
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 8:36 am

Just downloaded FF 60 and I see some changes I do not like.
No way to control the size of cache and when I clear cookies
and history I get a popup I have to acknowledge before deleting
them.
Any way to change this back to the way FF59 was ?

Richard1296

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3798
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 10:53 am

No way to control the size of cache

cache behavior was improved, why ask for another got futile option? or go about:config and change yourself.
and when I clear cookies

get a decent cookie manager.eg
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... utodelete/

ofc cookies are now bound to the storage (cookie and website data).
it has no impact to delete both at once now, if you revisit the site you get both again.
if the "storage" column is empty it is the behavior like before, it looks only different for you.
stepping back has risks, eg security holes
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/security/ ... sa2018-11/
and v60 resolves some bugs from v59

getting in trouble when using old and vulnerable software? no good.

Richard1296
 
Posts: 56
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 11:45 am

Isn't there ONE addon/web extension that will clear cache, cookies, history .
Restarting firefox seems the only way to clean everything.
A restart Firefox button would be nice, can't find one for v60.
Seems that little by little, Mozilla is making FF less user friendly by requiring
.css editing or extensions to replace features removed.
And I tried the cookie manager, but I want to clean everything.
But thanks for the suggestion .

Richard

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3798
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 1:18 pm

find one - get one
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... &q=restart
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... &q=history

eg
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... et-button/

Mozilla is making FF less user friendly

firefox itself did not change anything.
mozilla change extension system, but that is not vital for using firefox itself.
extensions extend firefox functionality for those who wants to.
mozilla is not responsible when extensions authors dont want to upgrade.

from my view - firefox is much more expandable than any other browser, even as quantum.

if you want the old way - get waterfox instead. but then there is nothing we can do for you.

Richard1296
 
Posts: 56
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 2:09 pm

Thanks for the restart button... my search's didn't find one, though
I have not searched for a while and it was a newly released extension.
I tried eCleaner before but it didn't clear everything from cache for me,
though it was supposed to.

Again Thanks
for the RESTART button...always helpful people on mozillaZine.

Richard

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10663
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 2:18 pm

.
This extension Empty Cache Button will empty the cache for you.

Note however for some reason when using it about:cache still shows there are files in the disk cache; but, it is empty.

.
FF 62.0.3 - FF 63b14 - FF 64a - TB 60.2.1 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22307
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 2:31 pm

Not sure if you are still looking for an add-on... did you see this one?

https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefo ... src=search
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Richard1296
 
Posts: 56
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted May 9th, 2018, 3:25 pm

Thanks dfoulkes...I have settled on that one

Richard

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22307
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted May 10th, 2018, 8:37 am

You're Welcome! :D
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

jputting

User avatar
 
Posts: 53
Joined: March 22nd, 2009, 9:48 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 10:25 pm

Hi,

Many thanks to Brummelchen for providing a link to the "Browser Restart" Add-on.

At last we all now have a quick an easy way of performing a simple restart of Firefox with 4 different methods to choose from.

I don't know why Firefox didn't include a Toolbar Button for restarting Firefox with more methods of restarting Firefox beyond the default methods of "Restart with Add-ons Disabled" or "Restart with Add-ons Enabled".

It can be infuriating when you use the default methods and possibly lose browser sessions which include multiple tabs or windows.

This new Add-on "Browser Restart" avoids those situations with its choice of 4 methods of restarting Firefox.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 3798
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted May 12th, 2018, 11:45 pm

"Restart with Add-ons Disabled"

a ka "safe-mode"

in regular there is no need to restart firefox, some extensions need this but that is also clickable in addon manager.
restart only when changing userchrome or similar, plugins.
NO restart because of memory but thats a system caused issues in most cases.

thus my imagination for restarts is limited.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests