Help with a custom search

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
User avatar
Foxinabox
Posts: 166
Joined: November 10th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Help with a custom search

Post by Foxinabox »

I think the following search plugin used to work with Firefox to perform an image search on Startpage. It doesn't work now. Can anyone see an error in my code?

Or has there been a change in Firefox that would explain why this no longer works?

Code: Select all

<SearchPlugin xmlns="http://www.mozilla.org/2006/browser/search/">
<ShortName>Startpage Images</ShortName>
<Description>Startpage Images</Description>
<InputEncoding>UTF-8</InputEncoding>
<Image width="16" height="16">data:image/png;base64,iVBORw0KGgoAAAANSUhEUgAAABAAAAANBAMAAABSlfMXAAAAMFBMVEVRMgTtngS8vLubaQX50AV6TwR/gH+1iQTIqmT7/frczlT8+qH75BmskkT5uAT88mzxPtH7AAAACXBIWXMAABuvAAAbrwFeGpEcAAAAXklEQVR4nGOYpAQGmgyaM8FgEoOmAQMDg6EgkBHAwGAeDGKYsjKbCoIYAnaPy+veARmsPmdKnrgAGSzn959xATFqTs9c6HMGpMu2I4C5GMhgCA0FmjAJYbJaGhgkAQCnACS7yiNQPQAAAABJRU5ErkJggg==</Image>
<SearchForm>https://startpage.com/eng/pics.html</SearchForm>
<Url type="text/html" method="POST" template="https://www.startpage.com/do/search">
  <Param name="query" value="{searchTerms}"/>
  <Param name="cat" value="pics"/>
  <Param name="cmd" value="process_search"/>
  <Param name="language" value="english"/>
  <Param name="engine0" value="v1all"/>
</Url>
</SearchPlugin>
nohamelin
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2013, 4:04 pm
Location: Chile

Re: Help with a custom search

Post by nohamelin »

I imported it in current NIghtly 62.0a1 and Fx Developer Edition 61.0b5 and the search works correctly for me.
User avatar
Foxinabox
Posts: 166
Joined: November 10th, 2014, 8:29 pm

Re: Help with a custom search

Post by Foxinabox »

nohamelin wrote:I imported it in current NIghtly 62.0a1 and Fx Developer Edition 61.0b5 and the search works correctly for me.
Thanks for doing that!

I think it worked fine for me before (given that I wrote it and wouldn't have stopped until it worked).

That makes me think perhaps my search.json.mozlz4 is slightly corrupt. Weird how it would only affect a single search engine though.

BTW, did you use your script to import it, or another method?
nohamelin
Posts: 96
Joined: September 3rd, 2013, 4:04 pm
Location: Chile

Re: Help with a custom search

Post by nohamelin »

The script, yes.
Brummelchen
Posts: 4480
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Re: Help with a custom search

Post by Brummelchen »

insert XML here and follow instructions to debug!
http://mycroftproject.com/submitos.html
Post Reply