MozillaZine

Firefox Slow

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 23rd, 2018, 12:34 pm

Since I installed the latest update, Firefox is slow accessing web pages. Chrome is quick as ever. Unless this is a known problem and there's a plan to fix it I must switch to Chrome.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20080
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted July 23rd, 2018, 2:09 pm

i_am_jim wrote:Since I installed the latest update, Firefox is slow accessing web pages. Chrome is quick as ever. Unless this is a known problem and there's a plan to fix it I must switch to Chrome.

I see that you were writing the same about Firefox 57 as well. - viewtopic.php?p=14776608&sid=89d3c927898ed5de1682740ddb92799b#p14776608

Looks like you have a problem at your end and unless you're going to be putting in a bit of effort to fix it, then yes, you will indeed 'am I going to have to abandon the browser I've been using for many years?'
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

morat
 
Posts: 2915
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted July 23rd, 2018, 2:40 pm

i_am_jim wrote:Chrome is quick as ever.

I found Chrome 67 really slow on old computers.

Google enables site isolation
http://www.ghacks.net/2018/05/30/chrome ... -roll-out/
http://www.techrepublic.com/article/goo ... cts-users/

Martin Brinkmann wrote:Site Isolation improves stability and security but it comes at the cost of increased memory usage. Google stated that initial tests showed that memory usage might increase by up to 20%.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120462
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 23rd, 2018, 3:55 pm

Unless this is a known problem and there's a plan to fix it I must switch to Chrome.

So, if it's an unknown problem, never previously reported, and there is as yet no plan to fix it, you'll stay with Firefox? Hmph.

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
and
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows

Also see http://kb.mozillazine.org/Standard_diagnostic_-_Firefox

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2018, 2:48 am

Frank Lion wrote:I see that you were writing the same about Firefox 57 as well. - viewtopic.php?p=14776608&sid=89d3c927898ed5de1682740ddb92799b#p14776608

Looks like you have a problem at your end and unless you're going to be putting in a bit of effort to fix it, then yes, you will indeed 'am I going to have to abandon the browser I've been using for many years?'

That report was 9 months ago and it wasn't the same problem. If you read the message you know it was fixed by going back to the previous version. I then set FF to not update. It did this last update without asking or I wouldn't be back.

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2018, 2:56 am

DanRaisch wrote:
Unless this is a known problem and there's a plan to fix it I must switch to Chrome.

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode?

I hadn't but I just did. In safe mode it works correctly but when I disable all plugins and extensions manually it still exhibits the problem.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 24th, 2018, 3:33 am

Hi,
Well, since Firefox runs well in Safe Mode, that sorta points to a problem with an extension/plugin.
&, as Dan stated....
Create a new Profile & just transfer one extension at a time until it fails.
> http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows


Moving this to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2018, 4:12 am

I don't want to start all over

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120462
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 24th, 2018, 4:24 am

You don't have to. You can create the new profile as an addition to the existing one, not a replacement. Then you can copy over elements of the old to the new, testing after the transfer of just one or two elements. If the performance problems reappear, the last copied over elements would be the problem. It would then be appropriate to create another new profile and move over the elements of the old that did NOT cause problems.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... ew_profile

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 24th, 2018, 4:29 am

sounds like a plan

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 25th, 2018, 11:00 am

DanRaisch wrote:You don't have to. You can create the new profile as an addition to the existing one, not a replacement. Then you can copy over elements of the old to the new, testing after the transfer of just one or two elements. If the performance problems reappear, the last copied over elements would be the problem. It would then be appropriate to create another new profile and move over the elements of the old that did NOT cause problems.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Transferring_ ... ew_profile

Yesterday I only had time to create the new profile.

I just finished transferring the listed files. I transferred them all. The problem is gone. Seems odd. Your message seemed to expect it would be one of these files, but it wasn't.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38454
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 26th, 2018, 4:29 am

Hi,
Yep.
We've noticed that this has been reported quite a few times.
Must be something to do with the installation/arrangement? of the extensions.
Dunno.
Computers are weird....that way.
:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20080
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted July 26th, 2018, 6:05 am

LIMPET235 wrote:Hi,
Yep.
We've noticed that this has been reported quite a few times.
Must be something to do with the installation/arrangement? of the extensions.
Dunno.
Computers are weird....that way.
:)

The confusion arises, I think, because Dan is giving advice more usually associated with finding bad extensions, rather than the transfer profile procedure.

The transfer profile files and folders on that KB link were chosen with the unlikelihood of their corruption in mind and can be safely transferred en masse. So moving the whole list with positive results is to be expected.

The only question mark file on the list is places.sqlite, which can get corrupted, but we had no choice to include it, due to its importance. Even so, it would have presented bookmark/history/tag like symptoms in the original profile and that eventuality was covered by the export to HTML suggestion in the Transfer KB link.

The problem is this thread was probably prefs.js or an extension, but other omitted files could also do this.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

i_am_jim
 
Posts: 262
Joined: June 15th, 2006, 9:19 am

Post Posted July 26th, 2018, 12:15 pm

To review, the problem was still there after I manually disabled of removed all addins and extensions.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20080
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted July 26th, 2018, 12:17 pm

i_am_jim wrote:To review, the problem was still there after I manually disabled of removed all addins and extensions.

Yep, we ain't daft, we knew that and this -

i_am_jim wrote: I only had time to create the new profile.

I just finished transferring the listed files. I transferred them all. The problem is gone.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests