MozillaZine

Text Encoding not working

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Barkley Hound

User avatar
 
Posts: 346
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 7:37 am

Text Encoding on the View Menu is grayed out and not selectable. I added it to the >> menu and it was still grayed out.

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38451
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 7:47 am

Moving to Firefox Support...
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-57.0-61.0-62.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.11.0.
RadioYachting. (Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 8:32 am

.
If the page specifies text encoding (charset) such as

Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">

Text Encoding on the View Menu will be grayed out. It is available only when the page HTML does not specify it.

EDIT: Here is a site

https://cheesebuerger.de/

that does not specify it and Text Encoding on the View Menu is not grayed out.

.
FF 63.0.3 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Barkley Hound

User avatar
 
Posts: 346
Joined: June 1st, 2006, 8:53 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 8:39 am

RobertJ wrote:.
If the page specifies text encoding (charset) such as

Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">

Text Encoding on the View Menu will be grayed out. It is available only when the page HTML does not specify it.

EDIT: Here is a site

https://cheesebuerger.de/

that does not specify it and Text Encoding on the View Menu is not grayed out.

.


Thanks. That explains it.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10679
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 8:46 am

.
Actually that site does specify this

Code: Select all
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">


So I'm somewhat confused. It has been a while since I coded web sites and there may be something I'm forgetting.

.
FF 63.0.3 - FF 64b9 - FF 65a - TB 60.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Gingerbread Man

User avatar
 
Posts: 7742
Joined: January 30th, 2007, 10:55 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 11:52 am

The Character Encoding menu is unavailable on the vast majority of sites. It's intentionally only enabled when the site doesn't specify a character encoding via an HTTP response header, or when there are UTF-8 errors. If you're looking for technical details, see below, but please don't add unnecessary comments there.

Bug 980904
Bug 1461741, comment 2

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19162
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted July 30th, 2018, 12:05 pm

Then is FF 52 different in that respect?

https://www.google.com/search?source=hp ... R%F6yksopp

Code: Select all
Unicode: Röyksopp
Western: Röyksopp
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19162
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 1st, 2018, 9:04 am

Then is FF 52 different in that respect?

Yes.
Available in 52, grayed out in Quantum.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests