MozillaZine

Firefox Sync - Unexpected error

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
GKnight
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 7th, 2013, 8:51 am

Post Posted August 18th, 2018, 9:29 am

Running FF 61.0.2 on a laptop that I had not used for a while (it had really old FF version that I upgraded to the latest one). I noticed that sync was not working after the update, so I disconnected the sync account and tried to connect again. But upon trying to log in, I get "Unexpected error" message. What should I do?

Update:

Tried to log in to FF Sync from one of my working computers (save version of FF), using this link: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/accounts/. Got "Unexpected error" as well. Wondering if something could be wrong with my account? The Sync continues to work on that computer, I just can't log in to the account or manage the account from the Settings page.

Alice0775

User avatar
 
Posts: 2658
Joined: October 26th, 2007, 11:25 pm
Location: OSAKA JPN

Post Posted August 18th, 2018, 10:29 am

GKnight wrote:Running FF 61.0.2 on a laptop that I had not used for a while (it had really old FF version that I upgraded to the latest one). I noticed that sync was not working after the update, so I disconnected the sync account and tried to connect again. But upon trying to log in, I get "Unexpected error" message. What should I do?

Update:

Tried to log in to FF Sync from one of my working computers (save version of FF), using this link: https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/accounts/. Got "Unexpected error" as well. Wondering if something could be wrong with my account? The Sync continues to work on that computer, I just can't log in to the account or manage the account from the Settings page.


Yep,
Now, Mozilla Engineers are looking into the problem.

https://status.services.mozilla.com/
Firefox Accounts
We have detected that some FxA users are having issues logging in. Engineers are looking into the problem.
Timestamp: Aug 18, 17:10 UTC

GKnight
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 7th, 2013, 8:51 am

Post Posted August 18th, 2018, 10:48 am

@ Alice0775, thanks, I did check the service status before I posted and everything was green. Looks like they updated the status since. I really picked the wrong time to work on that laptop ;)

damole
 
Posts: 28
Joined: May 18th, 2005, 9:58 pm

Post Posted August 19th, 2018, 2:43 am

I was having the same problem all day yesterday until evening UK time. I posted on the Mozilla support forums.

GKnight
 
Posts: 18
Joined: November 7th, 2013, 8:51 am

Post Posted August 19th, 2018, 8:24 am

All good now, seems like it was fixed yesterday.

@ Alice0775 - off-topic. Your screen name looks familiar, are you the author of the "Go Parent Folder" extension? It worked great for me for years, thanks! Too bad can't use it with Quantum....

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests