MozillaZine

bookmarks toolbar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
cxmacleod
 
Posts: 46
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 6:14 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 6:55 am

Is it possible to change an icon to a link that is on the bookmarks toolbar?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19252
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 11:57 am

Yes.

Now how to... ?

"Cleanly", I don't know.

In a hackish way, visit a site that has the "icon" you want, so if you want an 'M', this mite do.
Drag that link to your bookmarks toolbar.
With that, the toolbar shows an 'M'.
Now just change the Properties of that link to what you actually want.

So for Name: My home page
And for Location: about:home

Hmm... Actually that's not working in FF (52) as expected.
Pretty sure it does in SeaMonkey...

OK, I see what's happening.

If the "Location", has a favicon (is that the correct word?), then that is picked up, replacing the (in this case) 'M'.
Though if the "Location" is a place that does not have a favicon, like some javascript code, then the 'M' will persist.


(Seems there used to be something called, "bookmark favicon changer", but alas... webextensions & all that, so...)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19252
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 12:02 pm

Oh, if its a folder, I'd think my "hack" should work.
(And ask a mod to close your DUP thread.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

cxmacleod
 
Posts: 46
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 6:14 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 1:07 pm

therube wrote:Yes.

Now how to... ?

"Cleanly", I don't know.

In a hackish way, visit a site that has the "icon" you want, so if you want an 'M', this mite do.
Drag that link to your bookmarks toolbar.
With that, the toolbar shows an 'M'.
Now just change the Properties of that link to what you actually want.

So for Name: My home page
And for Location: about:home

Hmm... Actually that's not working in FF (52) as expected.
Pretty sure it does in SeaMonkey...

OK, I see what's happening.

If the "Location", has a favicon (is that the correct word?), then that is picked up, replacing the (in this case) 'M'.
Though if the "Location" is a place that does not have a favicon, like some javascript code, then the 'M' will persist.


(Seems there used to be something called, "bookmark favicon changer", but alas... webextensions & all that, so...)

That didn't work (I knew it wouldn't).

When you click that link for the first time, the icon will change.

cxmacleod
 
Posts: 46
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 6:14 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 1:13 pm

therube wrote:Oh, if its a folder, I'd think my "hack" should work.

Nope.

I'm thinking it may be possible with userchrome, but I question if I were to move the link into a folder, would the icon change?

As for what I ultimately want to do, I could do it pre-Quantum, but Quantum doesn't work well with local addresses.

morat
 
Posts: 3012
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted August 28th, 2018, 1:43 pm

A bookmark toolbar button element on the bookmarks toolbar has an image attribute.

AFAIK... It isn't possible to override the image attribute using the userChrome.css file.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19252
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 29th, 2018, 6:50 pm

When you click that link for the first time, the icon will change.

So it does.
I wasn't expecting that.
(Wonder if FF doesn't come with its own internal representation of "folder", & once it see the link to a folder, changes to that.)


(Well at least the hack will work for a javascript "Location:", not that it helps here.
javascript:Qr=document.getSelection();if(!Qr){void(Qr=prompt('Registry%20entry%20to%20find:',''))}if(Qr)location.href='es:'+(Qr);void(0))
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

cxmacleod
 
Posts: 46
Joined: March 31st, 2011, 6:14 pm

Post Posted August 29th, 2018, 10:47 pm

therube wrote:
So it does.
I wasn't expecting that.
(Wonder if FF doesn't come with its own internal representation of "folder", & once it see the link to a folder, changes to that.)

I was referring to a link not a folder.

Before Quantum, I had an old version of NetScape. In NetScape, I could save a link with an icon I liked, edit the address with the actual link I wanted, export the bookmarks to HTML, and then import to Firefox. Then, the icon would stay as is. However, with Quantum, that stopped working. It seems to check every time to see if the website icon has changed.

From that other thread, I used some css to change the icon on my Popup Bookmark Folder. That stupid star wasn't descriptive enough.

Anyhow, I've been using another add-on from https://codefisher.org/

The great thing about it is you can make your own buttons. I've done about 10 on mine, but the only issue I have is you can't use local addresses, it only works with HTTP addresses. I'd like to find a way to get around this, and I've even contacted the guy who created the add-on, but he says he can't fix that issue.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests