MozillaZine

How to always get tabs to load in the background?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
FrankSMS
 
Posts: 282
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 11:09 am

I notice on a few websites when you Control_Click a link it doesn't open in the background like its supposed to do. Some prick in their web design team has deemed themselves above convention and has decided to ruin fluidity for everyone else just to get attention to themselves sooner. Despicable behavior but its common. Pricks are everywhere it would seem. I looked in about:config but didn't see anything though the tab area is huge and I didn't check every one since I don't even know what most do that I see here.

Any idea how to really control how tabs work these days or are we at the mercy of these scum? Tabs used to work so well. They always opened in the background.

Another problem I've noticed, and this is not just Firefox, is when I load a tab and come to it later often it has to reload. Why? Its already loaded! Its not a news site or stock ticker that changes minute by minute. The whole point of tabs is to load and forget about them and they are there til you need them.

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 2:18 pm

Uhm, check browser.tabs.loadInBackground in about:config and make sure set to true?

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 282
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 4:38 pm

That was True.
services.sync.prefs.sync.browser.tabs.loadInBackground is also True.
I wonder if websites can override these settings?

MarkRH

User avatar
 
Posts: 1252
Joined: September 12th, 2007, 2:30 am
Location: Oklahoma City, OK

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 4:54 pm

Well, with it set to true and I control-click say my Firefox Config link here it opens it in a new tab in the background and tab focus doesn't change. Normally I have it set to switch to new tabs immediately so it's making a change in behavior here.

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 282
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 5:08 pm

accessibility.tabfocus is set to 7
accessibility.tabfocus_applies_to_xul is False

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22307
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 5:51 pm

FrankSMS
You might want to post a lind to one of those problem sites.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19109
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 30th, 2018, 6:33 pm

Throw in an ad blocker & see if that doesn't help.

I was putting some browser through their ranks, so was kind of running them open & visiting every kind of site, & one porn site I came across (oh, the name, I'll think of it), if you tried to to center-click a thumbnail (to have it open in a tab), instead it would revert to opening in the current tab.

So I threw in uBlock (& NoScript) & that quieted things down, & pretty sure it was something in uBlock that nixed that behavior.
(Now if uBlock "fixed it", I'm sure you could do similar "manually", maybe with a Pref change or some CSS, but as it was "fixed"...)

(I'll get the name... momentarily... if I can these neurons connecting... Tried two, but no dice. I'll think of it...)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests