MozillaZine

[SOLVED] FF won't display images-video on Sky News

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 571
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 7:13 am

I'm not sure when this first started. Hard refresh or clearing cookies doesn't fix it. It's OK in safe mode, so I assume it's an extension clash. Eventually I'll try the enable one-by-one trick but I was just wondering whether anyone else has experienced this?

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 571
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 8:00 am

OK, I manually disabled all extensions. No joy. Then I disabled "Do Not Track" and it now works. However, I have "Do Not Track" enabled in Opera and Vivaldi and they're fine.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120631
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 8:42 am

Not all that surprising. Different browsers may have different implementations of the "Do Not Track" functionality.

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 571
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted October 10th, 2018, 8:48 am

I'll see if I run into problems on any other sites. At least now I know it's something to check.

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 571
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 7:08 am

FYI: same problem here.

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10720
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted October 11th, 2018, 1:56 pm

Kevin McFarlane wrote:FYI: same problem here.


That video works for me; however, you need to turn off tracking protection to get it to play.

.
FF 64.0 - FF 65b5 - FF 66a - TB 60.3.3 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2018

Kevin McFarlane
 
Posts: 571
Joined: November 10th, 2009, 3:47 am

Post Posted October 12th, 2018, 8:01 am

RobertJ, yes, I was just noting another site that has the problem, as I thought maybe the Sky News issue was very rare. Anyway, having now gotten to the bottom of this feel free to close this thread if required.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests