Partial Profile transfer

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
pcal

Partial Profile transfer

Post by pcal »

Hi guys,

I'm a contractor working in an office owned by another company who provide euphemistically named "IT Support" via a 3rd party service.

My Win10 Pro machine runs TB (v52.9.1) and FF (v63.0) by choice, and M$ Office 365 by demand of the office owner. Anyway, Outlook has never worked properly since the support company installed it (crashes after every second mouse click), but as their recent Exchange upgrade broke my TB access to company e-mail I have had little choice but to try and use it.

The IT company has spent many hours on remote support trying to fix Outlook, but when I came back from lunch today, they had hosed my complete Win10 user profile and were trying to rebuild it =D>. They had created a whole new user account, into which they had restored the M$ spyware, but had lost access to my FF (and TB) profiles. Fortunately, I do keep a daily backup of both profiles which I have attempted to restore.

When I backup my profiles to c:/user/NewAccount/profilelocation/profile and use the -profilemanager switch to get FF pointing to the new profile, it has access to my plugins, but all history, bookmarks, and saved login credentials are gone.

If I backup the FF profile to c:/user/OldAccount/profilelocation/profile and point FF to that with the -profilemanager, it opens FF with all my data intact.

The same thing is also happening with TB, except that when opening the profile saved in "NewAccount" everything is completely blank and it tries to walk me through setting up new e-mail addresses. Using the profile in "OldAccount" everything works perfectly for most of my e-mail account (save the company account that triggered the IT Support work in the first place).

So, I can login on the computer to "NewAccount", and successfully access my FF and TB profiles saved in "OldAccount" even though I can't login to OldAccount.