MozillaZine

Firefox freezes with Flash content...

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
ruauu2
 
Posts: 145
Joined: February 2nd, 2006, 3:59 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2018, 10:55 am

There is one website I use frequently and it uses Flash for one of its functions. Roughly every fourth time I attempt that function, Firefox freezes. I cannot close tabs or close Firefox - I have to go to Task Manager and end task.

Here is what I've tried, all with no effect:

-- disabled add-ons
-- unchecked Enable hardware acceleration
-- I created a new profile and tested it with no extensions, I had only Flash enabled and only the default theme installed

I have started Firefox in safe mode and the issue still occurs, but it only affects the active tab - I can browse with and close the other tabs and I can exit Firefox normally.

I keep Flash up to date. Firefox 63.0.3 Windows 10 Home x64

Suggestions, please, on what I should try next.

Thank you.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120593
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted November 19th, 2018, 12:44 pm

What site? What is selected for Flash under Tools->Addons->Plugins->(Always, Ask to, or Never) Activate?
What version of Flash is currently installed on that system for Firefox?

tomatoshadow2

User avatar
 
Posts: 362
Joined: May 11th, 2017, 9:52 am

Post Posted November 19th, 2018, 1:04 pm

Does it happen on any other sites that you use flash?
Last edited by tomatoshadow2 on November 20th, 2018, 8:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

ruauu2
 
Posts: 145
Joined: February 2nd, 2006, 3:59 pm

Post Posted November 19th, 2018, 2:50 pm

What site? What is selected for Flash under Tools->Addons->Plugins->(Always, Ask to, or Never) Activate?
What version of Flash is currently installed on that system for Firefox?


The site is NWS radar https://radar.weather.gov/radar.php?rid=iln (some of the "Loop" modes)

The Flash plugin is set to "Ask"

Flash v 31.0.0.148

ruauu2
 
Posts: 145
Joined: February 2nd, 2006, 3:59 pm

Post Posted December 3rd, 2018, 10:37 am

Does it happen on any other sites that you use flash?


No, not that I've found.

I've considered an alternative for that site, but I have yet to find a suitable choice.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22356
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted December 4th, 2018, 10:29 am

I tested that site out and clicked on all loop-modes and had no issues at all. This is an old laptop with only 4 meg of mem... so, looks like it's not a lack of mem-issiue.

Have you thought about re-booting your PC into safe-mode (with network active) and just try out that problem site?

Because this is ESR I decided to try the latest portable standard Firefox...up to date and did the same test as above.. no issues.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests