Is it possible to disable a frame?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
FrankSMS
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by FrankSMS »

Some websites play video and it seems to be impossible to stop (level2stockquotes.com) so I was wondering if I could use F12/Inspect Element to control how a frame is behaving.
Brummelchen
Posts: 4480
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by Brummelchen »

* * 3p-frame block

guess which extension can use it. be specific!
FrankSMS
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by FrankSMS »

3p-frame block? What is that? Not in about:config. Please explain.
I'd love to be able to just right click a frame and block it. That would solve this problem completely. I was experimenting with this with adblockers and right clicking a frame to disable that element. Sometimes I could do it but the one I used didn't work for this site.
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by morat »

You could manually delete the iframe elements in the top frame with the developer tools, but that's a pain.

I'm using a user script to remove frames except the disqus frame that needed for comments.
FrankSMS
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by FrankSMS »

Top frame?
The frame I want to get rid of is the "TV" that plays incessantly. And the streaming ticker below it. It probably uses the most resources on that page. Its a great site for level 2 quotes but it sure drains your resources.
morat
Posts: 6421
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by morat »

Try running the following code in the web console.

* open web console (ctrl+shift+k)
* copy and paste code into console tab
* press return to run

Code: Select all

var iframes = document.getElementsByTagName("iframe");
for (var i = iframes.length - 1; i >= 0; i--)
  iframes[i].parentNode.removeChild(iframes[i]);
Test page
http://www.level2stockquotes.com/
FrankSMS
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by FrankSMS »

Sorry - this is unfamiliar.
What is "console tab"?
Shouldn't I right click/Inspect Element on the TV area? Isn't that what I want to block or are you blocking video anywhere on the page with this script?
User avatar
jscher2000
Posts: 11758
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA
Contact:

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by jscher2000 »

Sure, try right-click > Inspect Element on the TV, and work your way up through the HTML "tree" until you find its ultimate container, then you can figure out a unique selector to target it with a custom script or other blocker. You also can right-click > Delete Node, but that's only effective until you reload the page.
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54161
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Is it possible to disable a frame?

Post by dickvl »

Post Reply