MozillaZine

How can one run / start two different Firefoxes at the same

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 1:19 pm

How can one run / start two different Firefoxes at the same time?

I have changed the setting (in config:about) enabling that. I now want to revert that setting so that it is not possible anymore that two Firefoxes or more are running at the same time but I have forgotton which settings it was. Where can I find the setting?
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10765
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 2:42 pm

.
I don't have time now to get into detail but in order to run various versions of FF You must have different profiles for each.

.
FF 65.0.1 - FF 66b10 - FF 67a - TB 60.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 2:52 pm

Actually I mean to remember to have changed a value in the config:about at that time. I cannot remember to have created a new profile.

But yes, each Firefox has an own profile anyway.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

RobertJ
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 10765
Joined: October 15th, 2003, 7:40 pm
Location: Chicago IL/Oconomowoc WI

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 2:58 pm

Dirki wrote:But yes, each Firefox has an own profile anyway.

Every instance of FF that is running must have its own profile and you must have a way to make sure that each instance uses the correct profile.

.
FF 65.0.1 - FF 66b10 - FF 67a - TB 60.5 - Mac OSX 10.13.6
Computers I've used: IBM 7094/UNIVAC 1108/IBM 360/DEC PDP11/DEC VAX-11 780/DEC VAXstation 8000/Sun SPARCstation 2/Mac from 1984 to 2019

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:01 pm

An instance is another Firefox?
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120986
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:02 pm

There is no config setting such as you describe. See this thread -- viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3041713&p=14809843&hilit=multiple+profile#p14809843

I don't know that Portable Firefox allows for multiple profiles without additional software -- https://portableapps.com/support/firefo ... nd_profile

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 3:42 pm

Well, then obviously I confuse that setting with something else. But - if I remember it right - it was easily and quickly done to run two Firefoxe's at the same time, without doing anything with a profile, I would think. One single setting.

Thank you for the links.

It is not possible to get the / a Firefox set as the default browser working correctly in Win here:
> https://i.imgur.com/MxTI8yF.png

May be it has anything to do with that setting. So that is why I want to revert it.
Last edited by LIMPET235 on January 7th, 2019, 3:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Image tags removed to restore the forum layout.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120986
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 4:42 pm

Portable Firefox is not installed so Windows doesn’t recognize it as a program that can be set as a default app.
Are you running that from the hard drive or a flash drive?

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 6th, 2019, 5:25 pm

Portable Firefox is not installed so Windows doesn’t recognize it as a program that can be set as a default app.

But it does recognize it and it had worked all the time.

Are you running that from the hard drive or a flash drive?

From an internal SSD.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 120986
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 7th, 2019, 1:31 pm

Dirki wrote:But it does recognize it and it had worked all the time.


See this article -- https://www.winhelponline.com/blog/regi ... -in-vista/

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 7th, 2019, 4:42 pm

Many thanks! It almost works: when I after registering click a link and Firefox is not running it will be opened. When Firefox is running a new Firefox, respectively the same one is started and this message appears (says, Firefox is already running, does not response, the process must be stoppt to open a new window):
Image
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22415
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 9:48 am

I'm not sure where all this stands now but I run Firefox (installed) with two exe's running and each have their own profiles. I also run the portable Firefox version once in awhile.

So, my main profile is started up 'normally'.
My second running Firefox of course has it's own profile but it uses the pointer to my other profile and the -no-remote setting.
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -P "NEW MISC" -no-remote

Now for the portable version to be run at the same time as all the others a FirefoxPortable.ini file must reside in the Portable Firefox folder on disk....that 'ini' file is just a txt type file and can be created by a basic text editor... but must be saved as an ini extension file. The following was taken from the Portable site some time ago and you will see where the AllowMultipleInstances=true is set to true.

Code: Select all
[FirefoxPortable]
FirefoxDirectory=App\firefox
ProfileDirectory=Data\profile
SettingsDirectory=Data\settings
PluginsDirectory=Data\plugins
FirefoxExecutable=firefox.exe
AdditionalParameters=
LocalHomepage=
DisableSplashScreen=false
AllowMultipleInstances=true
DisableIntelligentStart=false
SkipCompregFix=false
RunLocally=false


I think that I've covered it.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 12:09 pm

Sorry, I am not quite sure, what do I have to do now?

I want to revert the setting which lets two Firefoxes run at the same time. My ini is here:
Image
I tried it here as well:
Image

Conetent of the ini:

[FirefoxPortable]
FirefoxDirectory=App\firefox
ProfileDirectory=Data\profile
SettingsDirectory=Data\settings
PluginsDirectory=Data\plugins
FirefoxExecutable=firefox.exe
AdditionalParameters=
LocalHomepage=
DisableSplashScreen=false
AllowMultipleInstances=false
DisableIntelligentStart=false
SkipCompregFix=false
RunLocally=false

# The above options are explained in the included readme.txt
# This INI file is an example only and is not used unless it is placed as described in the included readme.txt
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4002
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 12:21 pm

as you speak german you should visit camp-firefox.de and ask Zitronella for his/her portable version which is much simpler that those from portableapps. at least i know that starter and they other one, fore sure i know the source and its source code and the autoit script is safe.

the autoit starter always execute with -no-remote when another instance is running so your message above never would happen. its structure is very simple - firefox and profile, nothing else like bloated papps structure. to run several portables - where its purpose is really questionable! - just create as many folders with the starter and its subfolders you like to.
see - i run firefox semi-portable - i have my profiles in my user folder and firefox is default browser. you cant do that with the portable build with easy, it need some windows knowledge and how the portable work.s so you NEVER should make a firefox portable as the default browser. firefox dont know about the starter and where the profile is to find - the starter tells firefox where to use the profile.

Dirki
 
Posts: 605
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted January 8th, 2019, 12:56 pm

OK, thank you.

I just want to achieve that automatically the portable Firefox will be opened when I click any link, e.g. one in an e-mail or any where else. It worked for a long time, but it stopped working someday.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests