MozillaZine

userChrome.css not working on newly installed FF

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 27498
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted February 7th, 2019, 2:08 pm

arturox wrote:One thing that did boggle me somewhat while doing a lot of searching online, in Newsgroups and Forums etc, was the very large number of Firefox user who wanted their Tabs back below the toolbars.
There was and still are a LOT of folks complaining about this nuisance as their Firefox gets updated to 65...

So I have this simple question. Why is there not a hard coded config option to allow this MUCH wanted facility in Firefox?

Are the Moz developer blind and deaf to this little problem for them, but big problem for us Users?

Tabs on top has been from Firefox 29.0 and on because it required two massive code stacks to be maintained in parallel, which was expensive, bug prone, and slowed down Firefox.

There were some minor changes as of Fx 65.0 and later to why some userChrome.css needed to be updated if they are using it.

You cannot please everybody. So many people insist this or that feature should be added in or a default setting be changed or an insert Extension be built in. If Mozilla did all that then Firefox would be a mess.

btw mozillaZine.org is not run by nor a part of Mozilla.org http://www.mozillazine.org/about/ as this forum has been around for some years before Mozilla started their own community at support.mozilla.org

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43585
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 7th, 2019, 2:46 pm

As James said been gone for some time
Firefox 29 was released on April 29, 2014
and yet you are only complaining now :?
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

burris
 
Posts: 53
Joined: May 8th, 2005, 5:13 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 10:53 am

Unfortunately, I still need help in just moving the toolbar below.
I created a new chrome folder and then userChrome.css under that.

I tried every combination of posted css files to no avail.
In fact most of the time when I tried copying them, after saving, into the folder, they never copied.

Thanks for any assistance.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20197
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 11:09 am

burris wrote:Unfortunately, I still need help in just moving the toolbar below..

Follow this - viewtopic.php?p=14789746#p14789746 and also paste in the sample snippet given.

Once you have this working, then someone can show you how the toolbar code is done.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

burris
 
Posts: 53
Joined: May 8th, 2005, 5:13 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 12:59 pm

I did the auto zip file and I see the chrome file and the snippets there.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20197
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 1:15 pm

burris wrote:I did the auto zip file and I see the chrome file and the snippets there.

...and once you restarted Firefox, what changes did you see in the browser?
Last edited by Frank Lion on February 8th, 2019, 1:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

burris
 
Posts: 53
Joined: May 8th, 2005, 5:13 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 1:17 pm

No change.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20197
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 1:22 pm

burris wrote:No change.

I think you need to re-read the instructions given. For example, that sample snippet requires you to paste it into the userChrome.css file, below the namespace line which you need to paste in. Do you do that?
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

burris
 
Posts: 53
Joined: May 8th, 2005, 5:13 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 1:29 pm

I.m showing in profiles

chrome..under that userchrome.css ... is where the 4 css files are showing

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20197
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 1:55 pm

burris wrote:I.m showing in profiles

chrome..under that userchrome.css ... is where the 4 css files are showing

? We seem to have a slight 'failure to communicate' problem going on here.

Anyway, good luck with it and be sure to re-read those instructions.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32170
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 4:49 pm

burris wrote:I.m showing in profiles

chrome..under that userchrome.css ... is where the 4 css files are showing


That should be userChrome. The capital C is necessary.

It's called reading and comprehension, son.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

burris
 
Posts: 53
Joined: May 8th, 2005, 5:13 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 5:34 pm

Sorry..I do have it capitalized in the profile but did not show it in my post.

thanks

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52486
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 8:18 pm

What is the path of the userChrome.css file and did you make sure that the file doesn't have a hidden .txt or .css file extension (userChrome.css.txt or userChrome.css.css)?

burris
 
Posts: 53
Joined: May 8th, 2005, 5:13 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 8:36 pm

It starts with chrome...then...userChrome.css and inside that file there are 4 files in this order.....

userChrome.css
userChrome-example.css
userContent.css
userContent-example.css

arturox

User avatar
 
Posts: 14
Joined: January 30th, 2019, 3:20 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2019, 10:33 pm

malliz wrote:As James said been gone for some time Firefox 29 was released on April 29, 2014
and yet you are only complaining now :?


I've been using Firefox since pre version 1.0 days, so I'm aware of the twists & turns in its history...

I'm also aware mozillazine is nothing to do with the official mozilla...

Thanks James for the answer to my question... A double code stack relating to tabs is difficult to maintain... That I understand.

I find it somewhat amusing in my dotage, that the asking of an akward question these days becomes a complaint. :-(

Complaint, if I was complaining you'd really know about it...

I was just asking a question about Fx because I didn't know the answer... And now I do!

Thanks
Ax

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 15 guests