MozillaZine

65 changed search box to a drop down icon -how to revert?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
love10001212
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:22 am

Don't see any way to revert back to having the actual search box embedded within the bar. Normally I drag it to the right of the address bar and put some flexible space to the right.

Now I just see the two arrows and can't do anything with it. Annoying to have it ll the way on the right on a huge monitor and have to click to then click and search every time

Thanks guys

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9435
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:28 am

The Search Bar is missing?
Go to Customize, right click a toolbar or Menu.
It should be there, just drag it up.
#KeepFightingMichael

love10001212
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:30 am

Doesn't allow. No dragging or repositioning it in customize. It is now just two arrows at the top right and you have to click on it to drop down the search box.

love10001212
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:35 am

n/m
Last edited by love10001212 on February 9th, 2019, 8:42 am, edited 2 times in total.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9435
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:37 am

Hmm (tests) interesting, have you accidentally dragged it into that silly Overflow Menu Fish thing on the right in Customize?
If so go there and drag it out to the left.
AFAICT those arrows only appear when items are in there.

@Yep that's how it looks here with the search bar in the 'fish tank'.
Last edited by mightyglydd on February 9th, 2019, 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
#KeepFightingMichael

love10001212
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:41 am

mightyglydd wrote:Hmm (tests) interesting, have you accidentally dragged it into that silly Overflow Menu Fish thing on the right in Customize?
If so go there and drag it out to the left.
AFAICT those arrows only appear when items are in there.


Yesss that was it! didn't even know that existed. Who wants 'overflow' thse days lol. Bring back old school 3 icons and that's it!

Thanks!

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9435
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted February 9th, 2019, 8:48 am

Excellent, I find it very interesting that the Search Bar's no longer visible with a new install, without going to Customize one wouldn't know it existed.
One can read MozCo like a book.. ;)
#KeepFightingMichael

love10001212
 
Posts: 289
Joined: July 31st, 2005, 12:23 am
Location: New York City

Post Posted February 16th, 2019, 3:47 pm

mightyglydd wrote:Excellent, I find it very interesting that the Search Bar's no longer visible with a new install, without going to Customize one wouldn't know it existed.
One can read MozCo like a book.. ;)


I agree; and I'm pretty familiar with tweaks but couldn't figure that one out on my own lol! Thanks again! :) All is back to normal.

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32186
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted February 16th, 2019, 10:21 pm

about:preferences#search -> Search = There's a 'toggle' at the top for Use the address bar for search and navigation which is the default upin installation of Firefox, and Add search bar in toolbar to show the old traditional Search Bar to the right of the Location Bar. Also, within the Customize Firefox the separate Search Bar can be dragged to where the user wants it to sit. Whichever manner the user chooses to use that setting should hold thru updates, but what I have been seeing in the various Firefox support fora since Firefox 65 was released the xulstore.json may be getting corrupted furing the update process; that file is holds the UI user modifications (and other UI prefs like window size and location on the monitor).

.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests