MozillaZine

firefox 65 & firefox-nightly simultaneous browsing (Linux)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
LRC1962
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 15th, 2018, 11:00 pm

Post Posted March 14th, 2019, 9:37 pm

Because Nightly sometimes has a bug I like to have firefox sid available. Now I know the claim is that you can have both going at the same time using different profiles. I set it up according to instructions . Tested fine up to a point.
1) Started 65 and 65 starts with proper profile. Close.
2) Started Nightly, proper profile. Close.
3)Started 65 and 65 starts with proper profile. I then started Nightly, proper profile. Close both.
4)Started Nightly, proper profile. I then start 65 and... Nightly loads with nightly profile. Tried again in case error made and same result. Double check commands 65 has "/usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin %u" and Nightly has "~/firefox/firefox-bin %u" so that should be good.
Conclusion is that the "/usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin %u" is using the "~/firefox/firefox-bin %u" when "~/firefox/firefox-bin %u" is already loaded.
If a duplicate issue I am sorry could not find it.
Is there a fix for this?
Last edited by DanRaisch on March 15th, 2019, 3:54 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: (Linux) added to subject line.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 7:54 am

How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20190804 SeaMonkey/2.49.5
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20191212 SeaMonkey/2.53.1

LRC1962
 
Posts: 4
Joined: March 15th, 2018, 11:00 pm

Post Posted March 18th, 2019, 7:16 am

As the examples are using Windows only I did have rework a bit of what was said.
The only way I could get things working cleanly and avoiding going into profile manager every time was to create a new directory' Making things easier placed in the nightly Parent directory the nightly profile. I then modified the nightly icon properties command to read:
~/firefox/firefox-bin -no-remote -Profile ~/firefox/Profile/nightly/
I could then leave firefox sid Icon command as
/usr/lib/firefox/firefox-bin %u
Until firefox changes things again it seems to be working well.
Thak you ElTxolo for your help.

ElTxolo

User avatar
 
Posts: 2484
Joined: July 30th, 2007, 9:35 am
Location: Localhost

Post Posted March 18th, 2019, 7:29 am

You're welcome!! ;)
How to Ask Questions The Smart Way - How to Report Bugs Effectively ;)
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:52.0) Gecko/20190804 SeaMonkey/2.49.5
Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux x86_64; rv:60.0) Gecko/20191212 SeaMonkey/2.53.1

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4063
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted March 19th, 2019, 6:18 am

FWIW Firefox Nightly now uses dedicated profiles since Nightly 67.0a1.

Dedicated Profiles per Firefox Installlation
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests