MozillaZine

Block Windows FF Policy

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
braben
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2019, 5:26 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 5:31 am

Hello,
I am looking for an option for Firefox to disable the Firefox GPO Windows.
I am working for an Enterprise with 30000 computers. A group of computers should not be influenced by the overall Windows Firefox policy.
Any Windows Activ Directory solutions are not allowed.
Strange question ? Ik know. !
Ben.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4194
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 11:19 am

thats why its called "group" policy - sort your user according to groups where templates are used or not.

braben
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2019, 5:26 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 11:48 am

I don't think this answer will help in anyway, sorry

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9407
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 11:53 am

braben wrote:Hello,
I am looking for an option for Firefox to disable the Firefox GPO Windows.
Uh-hu...why...Are your IT department aware of this?
@ You're using Chrome.
#KeepFightingMichael

braben
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2019, 5:26 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 12:47 pm

i a₩m the it department !

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9407
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 12:59 pm

Well then, if you enabled it I'm sure you know how to disable it....
#KeepFightingMichael

braben
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2019, 5:26 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 1:25 pm

i don't enable it...by default it's enabled...youhoe

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52595
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 1:50 pm

If you use GPO then there is no way to circumvent it.
If you use a policies.json file then this only works for a specific Firefox installation, so the other users could use another Firefox program folder without policies.
If you use Firefox ESR then you can use an autoconfig.cfg file that can contain privileged JavaScript that can in principle differentiate via an environment variable or otherwise.
An autoconfig.cfg file doesn't work when GPO is active.
For Firefox release version you would have to add a pref() line to autoconfig.js to disable the sandbox.

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... liciesjson
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/cu ... autoconfig

braben
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2019, 5:26 am

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 2:32 pm

Than you dickvl for your reponse..... very helpful

Do you think that it is posible to adjust the source code of a Firefox Edition so the Policy Engine is disabled?

We have professional programmers at our location.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10531
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted March 15th, 2019, 4:12 pm

You could try posting your question here:

https://support.mozilla.org/questions/new/firefox-enterprise/policies-customization-enterprise

Keep scrolling down past article suggestions to continue with the form.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4194
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2019, 1:23 am

If you use a policies.json file then this only works for a specific Firefox installation

this would mean to maintain several custom firefox installations (MSI file based for AD).
could me more easy than re-arranging users to groups ;)

braben
 
Posts: 7
Joined: March 15th, 2019, 5:26 am

Post Posted March 16th, 2019, 1:24 am

Thank you, i already posted my question.
I am busy with this issues now for two months , so maybe......

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests