Editing/cloning passwords

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
antic
Posts: 671
Joined: December 12th, 2004, 8:40 am
Location: Oz

Editing/cloning passwords

Post by antic »

In Firefox previous to Quantum, there was a brilliant addon called "Saved Password Editor" which was very useful to me as a developer working on many different sites. It allowed me to edit all the details of a stored password, including the domain, as well as cloning an existing password (e.g. for use on another domain) and add a brand new password entry from scratch.

Image

In the password context menu, it also added useful functions, esp. to force saving a new password entry, for sites that use weird AJAX methods when logging in so the browser doesn't automatically ask you to save them.

Image

Having looked around for ages, there doesn't seem to be an equivalent for Quantum, which is a real pain. The built-in password editor doesn't let me change the domain, make a copy or manually add a new one. Just being able to copy an existing one to a new domain would be super convenient for me.

Am I out of luck here, or is there an addon I've missed for Quantum which provides those extra functions?
User avatar
the-edmeister
Posts: 32249
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: Editing/cloning passwords

Post by the-edmeister »

The old "Saved Password Editor" is something that many users have mentioned wanting for Quantum. I suppose an API that an extension could use just hasn't been created, yet.

Not a "deal killer" for me, but I have used it in the past.

.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54163
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Editing/cloning passwords

Post by dickvl »

You can possibly use the Browser Console to add/import new passwords to the Password Manager.
Starting with Firefox 42 it is possible to use a special function to import passwords in the Password Manager.
This function was added to make it possible to import passwords from Edge.
This is the LoginHelper.maybeImportLogins(<json-login-data>) function and the data needs to be in JSON format.
resource://gre/modules/LoginHelper.jsm
With Firefox 60+ it can import an array (hence plural [60+]: maybeImportLogins(); initially [42-59]: maybeImportLogin(), only a single item) and the data needs to be in JSON format.
You can edit name and password fields in the Password Manager, but you need to remove and re-import for changes to other fields.
bug 1192035 - Import passwords from Microsoft Edge / Windows 8+ [42]

Longer form JSON data with more field names:

Code: Select all

[{"username":"<name>","password":"<password>","httpRealm":null,"hostname":"https://","formSubmitURL":"","usernameField":"","passwordField":""}]

Code: Select all

signon= '[{"username":"<name>","password":"<password>","httpRealm":null,"hostname":"https://"}]';
if(newSG=prompt("Logins JSON: [{},{}]",signon)){
newSG=JSON.parse(newSG);
ChromeUtils.import("resource://gre/modules/LoginHelper.jsm");
LoginHelper.maybeImportLogins(newSG);
}
Post Reply