MozillaZine

Firefox sync vs Firefox copy profile AND sync

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
bookmarkimport
 
Posts: 51
Joined: February 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

Post Posted April 11th, 2019, 1:48 pm

I've used Firefox sync before but it's never 100%. The about:config tweaks don't transfer for example.

Is there's any downside to copying my current profile to another computer and then syncing?

the-edmeister

User avatar
 
Posts: 32200
Joined: February 25th, 2003, 12:51 am
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Post Posted April 11th, 2019, 2:31 pm

None that I have experienced. I tend to use a computer for 6 to 8 years and the last time (3 years ago) I built a new computer I was horrified at how much Sync didn't transfer to the new PC. After wasting 3 weeks attempting to make the new PC equal to the older one - one piece at a time, I just quit and settled for copying the entire "old" Profile contents into a brand new Profile on the new PC. and forgot about trying to make the 1st Profile that had been sync'd the same as I had been using om the older PC. IMO, Sync was too limited with what it did. OK for bookmarks and maybe Login / Passwords data, but the rest was too damn flakey for my tastes. And that wasn't because I was an inept user of Sync, I began using Sync when it was the Weave extension during Firefox 3.5 / 3.6, before Sync was made a standard feature built into Firefox. I knew going in that Sync had its limits, but I was shocked at how limited it turned out to be with a fresh installation on a new PC.


.
A mind is a terrible thing to waste. Mine has wandered off and I'm out looking for it.

bookmarkimport
 
Posts: 51
Joined: February 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

Post Posted April 11th, 2019, 3:01 pm

the-edmeister wrote:None that I have experienced. I tend to use a computer for 6 to 8 years and the last time (3 years ago) I built a new computer I was horrified at how much Sync didn't transfer to the new PC. After wasting 3 weeks attempting to make the new PC equal to the older one - one piece at a time, I just quit and settled for copying the entire "old" Profile contents into a brand new Profile on the new PC. and forgot about trying to make the 1st Profile that had been sync'd the same as I had been using om the older PC. IMO, Sync was too limited with what it did. OK for bookmarks and maybe Login / Passwords data, but the rest was too damn flakey for my tastes. And that wasn't because I was an inept user of Sync, I began using Sync when it was the Weave extension during Firefox 3.5 / 3.6, before Sync was made a standard feature built into Firefox. I knew going in that Sync had its limits, but I was shocked at how limited it turned out to be with a fresh installation on a new PC.


.



Thanks, sounds good.

bookmarkimport
 
Posts: 51
Joined: February 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

Post Posted April 11th, 2019, 7:28 pm

Using the copied profile... works great!

bookmarkimport
 
Posts: 51
Joined: February 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

Post Posted April 11th, 2019, 11:51 pm

I did have to log out of Sync as both computer were showing up as the same one, even when renamed.

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22550
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted April 12th, 2019, 7:48 am

bookmarkimport wrote:I did have to log out of Sync as both computer were showing up as the same one, even when renamed.


Did you just rename that profile using the File explorer? .. or use the profile manger?

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

bookmarkimport
 
Posts: 51
Joined: February 3rd, 2014, 6:27 pm

Post Posted April 12th, 2019, 10:07 am

dfoulkes wrote:
bookmarkimport wrote:I did have to log out of Sync as both computer were showing up as the same one, even when renamed.


Did you just rename that profile using the File explorer? .. or use the profile manger?

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager


I created a new profile on the new computer with the profile manager (run -> firefox.exe -p). However, I named it the same as the old profile folder (and pasted the old files in). Maybe that was it.

The logout and relogging in solved whatever issue and Sync recognizes both as different computers.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2256
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted April 12th, 2019, 11:23 pm

Gave up on Sync long ago. I have my 2 machines networked, and I just copy the profile from one to the other. Except for places.sqlite, not much changes.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /Waterfox64 56.2.11/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Verizon FIOS wired network

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52776
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted April 13th, 2019, 3:12 pm

Note that some files can contain absolute paths to the profile folder and can cause problems when you rename the profile.
One known file is pkcs11.txt for the software security device.
The prefs.js file can also store file paths.

LoveMyFoxy

User avatar
 
Posts: 2256
Joined: December 11th, 2009, 11:23 am
Location: USA

Post Posted April 13th, 2019, 6:19 pm

I don't rename it. I extract only the contents and send them over.
2 Desktops--Win 7 Ult. 64-bit, 6GB RAM /Waterfox64 56.2.11/Thunderbird 52.9ESR/Verizon FIOS wired network

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests