MozillaZine

Problem deleting history in 66.0.5?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
unleasher
 
Posts: 20
Joined: July 13th, 2010, 10:47 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2019, 10:49 am

Hi,

I was trying to delete one month of history recently and I tried this a couple of times but each time it seemed like there was a runaway memory/CPU process and it really started pegging the CPU and memory usage kept ballooning until it was using close to 100% CPU and memory was 4-5 GB +

The browser became unresponsive and I had to end it from the Windows task manager.

However this didn't happen when I just deleted individual history items or sites.

Anyone else see this happening? It seems like it is a bug that should be looked at.
I'm on Windows 10 Enterprise x64 v.1809 and Firefox 66.0.5 64 bit.

Thanks!

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122243
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted May 16th, 2019, 11:41 am

Moving to Firefox Support as no bug has yet been confirmed here.

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52884
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 16th, 2019, 4:21 pm

How much history do you have?
You can type a colon int the search bar in the History Manager

You can check for problems with places.sqlite and favicons.sqlite in the profile folder.
Help => Troubleshooting Information (about:support) => Verify Integrity
In case errors are reported with "Verify Integrity" close and restart Firefox and retry.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Unable_to_pro ... _-_Firefox

unleasher
 
Posts: 20
Joined: July 13th, 2010, 10:47 am

Post Posted May 20th, 2019, 9:59 am

I tried it in safe mode a couple of times with the same result.

I also tried to Verify Integrity but it didn't find any major problems.

I haven't cleared history in a while - I only had about 6-8 months of history.

I wonder if anyone can reproduce this bug or maybe it's something else to do with my profile?
I wonder if it is because I have 100s of tabs open (only a handful are actually loaded though)

I'm going to try this on another computer (Win 7) when I have a chance too, to see if it works normally.

Thank you!

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20076
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 20th, 2019, 11:03 am

I'd suspect a corrupt or otherwise "bad" history file (is it still stored in places.sqlite)?

As a test, create a new, clean Profile.
Exit FF.
Then copy existing places.sqlite (assuming that's the correct file) into (overwriting) new Profile & see if that also eats CPU/memory?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 7 guests