MozillaZine

Suddenly all bookmarks/extensions/passwords vanished.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
FrankSMS
 
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted June 5th, 2019, 10:31 am

Turns out they were in a different profile. I noticed I seem to have 3. Somehow something changed the default to a new one. Any idea how this could have occurred? And are a lot of extensions not working in Quantum?

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121465
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 5th, 2019, 11:54 am

Very many legacy extensions don't work in Quantum due to changes in the APIs when Mozilla switched to WebEx for extensions.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9436
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted June 5th, 2019, 12:02 pm

FrankSMS wrote:Turns out they were in a different profile. I noticed I seem to have 3. Somehow something changed the default to a new one. Any idea how this could have occurred? And are a lot of extensions not working in Quantum?

Which Firefox are you using?
'Spoofing' your UA?
#KeepFightingMichael

katoda
 
Posts: 65
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 12:40 pm

Post Posted June 5th, 2019, 12:40 pm

I bet your Firefox just updated to v67?

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted June 5th, 2019, 2:56 pm

67.0.1

katoda
 
Posts: 65
Joined: June 5th, 2007, 12:40 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 12:26 am

And from which version?
If your previous version was below v67, then you have been impacted by the famous change on how Firefox manages user profiles.

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 7:47 am

What is the "famous change" to profile management? Install a new one with their preferences and mark that as default? The "we designed it so we're smarter" syndrome?
Because I don't see that attitude in almost any of their design. I see flaws sometimes but they don't look prideful like you see in other products, especially Google's. Mozilla does strive to give the user a good amount of control most of the time. As ad revenue is so important adblockers are going to be under intense pressure and Mozilla being a non-profit is free from these influences. This could be a fantastic thing for them and draw a lot more people back. Most people use Chrome simply because most sites work better with it because web designers can't be bothered to design the page for 2 types of browsers. But its lack of user control bristles more advanced users. It really does leave you out in the dust much of the time.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9436
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 8:07 am

And what does any of that have to do with the price of tea in China ?
Last edited by mightyglydd on June 6th, 2019, 8:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
#KeepFightingMichael

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 8:16 am

What is a UA?

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9436
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 8:20 am

Yours.

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/73.0.3683.103 Safari/537.36 OPR/60.0.3255.109
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; rv:67.0) Gecko/20100101 Firefox/67.0

User Agent. https://www.howtogeek.com/114937/htg-ex ... ser-agent/
#KeepFightingMichael

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 8:45 am

Yours? My what? I asked what UA stands for.
UN should stand for username. I've never run across UA before.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 121465
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 8:47 am

Your question was answered in mightyglydd's last post: User Agent. Follow the link for more information.

FrankSMS
 
Posts: 351
Joined: February 9th, 2017, 4:03 pm

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 10:29 am

Ah I see now.
Not sure what that has to do with anything. I'm not using a VPN/proxy.

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10587
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 11:32 am

Firefox 67 should create a new profile named default-release and migrate you to it (in most cases). Sometimes the migration is incomplete and you need to manually switch back to an earlier profile to recover all your data. I'm sure the developers would like to understand why the migration isn't 100% reliable, but I don't know whether that can be determined from some log or diagnostic information on the system, so I don't know how they plan to solve it.

kerft
 
Posts: 296
Joined: January 30th, 2019, 9:38 am

Post Posted June 6th, 2019, 11:46 am

To confirm - you have manually migrated your old data to the new, incorrectly created profile and you do not need any additional support? Or is that not the case?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests