MozillaZine

downloading the latest eme-free release

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
lvm
 
Posts: 95
Joined: June 27th, 2005, 6:17 am

Post Posted June 11th, 2019, 1:12 am

There is a permanent url for downloading the latest firefox available: https://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-latest and it has optional OS and language parameters e.g. https://download.mozilla.org/?product=f ... lang=en-GB but is there a way to specify that I want to download the latest EME-free version?

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20061
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 11th, 2019, 5:03 am

Not that I'm aware.
And I'd suspect there is not.

You could always "guess" the URL.
Knowing that 67.0.1 is out. And that 67.0.2 is about to be out.
So with that, take your choice, .1 or .2.
Code: Select all
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/67.0.1/win64-EME-free/en-GB/Firefox%20Setup%2067.0.1.exe
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/67.0.2/win64-EME-free/en-GB/Firefox%20Setup%2067.0.2.exe
And be on the lookout for (but not yet)
http://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/67.0.5/win64-EME-free/en-GB/Firefox%20Setup%2067.0.5.exe

s/win64/win32/ of that's what you need.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted June 11th, 2019, 6:40 am

I use EME-free\en-gb for quite some time now. I did try to find a way of downloading update file for it 'automatically' but was never successful - seemed the only way would be to just allow FF to do automatic updates itself, but I would never want to do that. I just tinkered with the way therube mentions but see that as more hassle than it is worth, though it's good of therube to point out that option. Easiest path is just to do it manually, doesn't take long anyway.

All above said, I've just done some research on the EME-free version and it seems that it is easy to turn standard FF into EME-free anyway. Instructions here: Watch DRM content on Firefox

As it's so easy to make standard FF EME-'free' anyway it makes me, now, wonder why Mozilla is producing an EME-free version at all?
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20061
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 11th, 2019, 6:55 am

Speaking of that, I have & have had for quite some time now... FF-EME-FREE-maker-instalDir.distr.ARJ

\FF-EME-FREE-maker-instalDir.distr.ARJ\distribution\distribution.ini

distribution.ini:
Code: Select all
# Partner Distribution Configuration File
# Author: Mozilla
# Date: 2015-03-27

[Global]
id=mozilla-EMEfree
version=1.0
about=Mozilla Firefox EME-free

[Preferences]
media.eme.enabled=false
app.partner.mozilla-EMEfree="mozilla-EMEfree"

IOW copy distribution.ini into a directory called /distribution/ within your %instalDir%.
So, %instalDir%/distribution/distribution.ini
Suppose that still works?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 359
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted June 11th, 2019, 8:34 am

Yes, I tested moving the distribution.ini file in and out of the distribution folder. Seems to switch EME-free on and off. In any case, I'm over to a fresh install of Standard Firefox 67.0.2 now and just switched off the Widevine Content Decryption Module . . . from inside plugins management. Thanks for the tip though, therube, appreciated.
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4600
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted June 12th, 2019, 6:45 am

I've just done some research on the EME-free version and it seems that it is easy to turn standard FF into EME-free anyway.

thats correct - it has no benefit to install the crippled EME only for reason not to view DRM content. thats the only difference. (widevine needed ofc for drm) be aware - drm does not mean thats always advertisement. ads dont use drm...

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests