MozillaZine

'choose user profile' popup won't go away

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
theunstar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 12th, 2019, 12:16 am

Post Posted June 12th, 2019, 12:42 am

After a firefox update a few weeks ago I started seeing the "choose user profile" popup everytime I launch the browser. It has nothing to do with the browser's process not being terminated, as it occurs even after a system restart. "use the selected profile without asking at startup" is checked and my profiles.ini looks like this:

Code: Select all
[Install***]
Default=D:\Firefox profile\****.default
Locked=1

[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=0
Path=D:\Firefox profile\****.default\
Default=1

[General]
StartWithLastProfile=1
Version=2


I noticed that if I delete the [Install*] section, next firefox startup is without a popup, but the .ini is again overwritten once firefox is closed, so the problem persists.

Any suggestions much appreciated :)

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4279
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted June 12th, 2019, 6:55 am

you need to read the whole story
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3050319

its your way to push commands to a running instance.

theunstar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 12th, 2019, 12:16 am

Post Posted June 13th, 2019, 3:12 am

Thank you! However, that thread is a bit over my head. It did at least help me add the profile name as a parameter to the browser shortcut:

Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -P "default"


This solves maybe 80% of my problem - lanching via this particular shortcut now works ok. The problem (obviously) persists whenever the browser is launched any other way.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19696
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 13th, 2019, 7:34 pm

choose user profile

I was going to say, "that's the Profile Manager".
But looking just now, sure enough, they call it "Choose User Profile".

Anyhow, it is the Profile Manager ;-).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

atlanto
 
Posts: 89
Joined: March 7th, 2015, 4:19 pm
Location: Japan

Post Posted June 14th, 2019, 1:04 am

theunstar wrote:
Code: Select all
[Profile0]
Name=default
IsRelative=0
Path=D:\Firefox profile\****.default\
Default=1

It must be
Path=D:\Firefox profile\****.default
(trailing "\" is unnecessary)

theunstar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 12th, 2019, 12:16 am

Post Posted June 14th, 2019, 7:53 am

atlanto wrote:It must be
Path=D:\Firefox profile\****.default
(trailing "\" is unnecessary)


Ok wow, this actually helped, THANK YOU! Such a stupid little thing.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 19696
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 15th, 2019, 6:55 am

Good catch atlanto.

Now that begs the question, how did the \ get in there?
Did you manually enter the path there & when you did, including the \ ?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

theunstar
 
Posts: 4
Joined: June 12th, 2019, 12:16 am

Post Posted June 15th, 2019, 9:50 am

I moved the profile years ago and it's possible I had to enter the path manually back then, I don't remember. Firefox definitely didn't care until an update a few weeks ago, though.

It actually works just as well with the backslash, it's just that both paths (under [install] and [profile*]) have to be the same. So I'm guessing firefox added the [install] section lately and in it a backslash-less path, which caused this weird issue.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 17 guests