Hide overflow button

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

I had to do a clean reinstall and I'm having an hiding the overflow button , the ">>".

I want to be able to see everything and I could before, but I can't seem to find a userchrome fix. Any help?
kerft
Posts: 585
Joined: January 30th, 2019, 9:38 am

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by kerft »

If you go in the address bar to about:config, then find browser.tabs.tabMinWidth and set it lower, like 15, many more tabs should be visible. The overflow would still happen eventually.
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

I know it can be done as I had it hidden before I had to re-install. I just don't remember how as I did it a long time ago.

I had 14 bookmarks on the same line as the address bar. 7 bookmarks on top of 7 bookmarks. It looked perfect.
morat
Posts: 6434
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by morat »

The "v" is the "List all tabs" button. It sometimes called the overflow button.

The ">>" is the "More tools" button or the "Show more bookmarks" button.

I think roninx is talking about the "More tools" button on the location toolbar.
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54163
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by dickvl »

He is talking about bookmarks and has "Bookmarks Toolbar Items" positioned on the Navigation Toolbar.
This item has a flex attribute that is lower than what the location bar has, so it is likely that he won't see all bookmarks and most opr all bookmarks will be under the bookmarks overflow chevron drop-down list.
You would to use code in userChrome.css to set a minimum width for the "Bookmarks Toolbar Items" container that is high enough to display all bookmarks and prevent them from going to the overflow area.

#personal-bookmarks { min-width: 400px !important; }
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

morat wrote:The "v" is the "List all tabs" button. It sometimes called the overflow button.

The ">>" is the "More tools" button or the "Show more bookmarks" button.

I think roninx is talking about the "More tools" button on the location toolbar.
Whatever you call it, this is the button; Image
dickvl wrote:He is talking about bookmarks and has "Bookmarks Toolbar Items" positioned on the Navigation Toolbar.
This item has a flex attribute that is lower than what the location bar has, so it is likely that he won't see all bookmarks and most opr all bookmarks will be under the bookmarks overflow chevron drop-down list.
You would to use code in userChrome.css to set a minimum width for the "Bookmarks Toolbar Items" container that is high enough to display all bookmarks and prevent them from going to the overflow area.

#personal-bookmarks { min-width: 400px !important; }
First, that code did not work.

Second, as I said, I know it can be done. I did it before a long time ago.

I have an old screenshot of what it looked like:

Image
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54163
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by dickvl »

You can add a rule to set the max-width for the #urlbar-container.
You will have to check what values you need for both items.
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Too ... er_Toolbox

Code: Select all

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul"); /* only needed once */

#urlbar-container   { max-width: XXXpx !important; }
#personal-bookmarks { min-width: XXXpx !important; }
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

That wasn't how I did it the last time.
kerft
Posts: 585
Joined: January 30th, 2019, 9:38 am

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by kerft »

This may not be quite right since you had them next to the location bar and they appear to be mini sized - https://www.reddit.com/r/FirefoxCSS/com ... k_toolbar/ and https://www.reddit.com/r/FirefoxCSS/com ... lbars_fix/
User avatar
LIMPET235
Moderator
Posts: 39961
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by LIMPET235 »

roninx,
May I suggest that when you get the correct code for your problem,
that you save it in a folder somewhere as a .txt file for future reference?

I have some special codes going back many versions.
[Ancient Amateur Astronomer.]
Win-10-H/64 bit/500G SSD/16 Gig Ram/450Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-115.0.2/T-bird-115.3.2./SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.125.

(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

LIMPET235 wrote:roninx,
May I suggest that when you get the correct code for your problem,
that you save it in a folder somewhere as a .txt file for future reference?

I have some special codes going back many versions.
Yes, of course, but we may be a little off track ATM, so I'll ask the original question;

How do I hide the button? Image
morat
Posts: 6434
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by morat »

Try these:

Code: Select all

#nav-bar-overflow-button { display: none !important; } /* tooltip: More tools… */

Code: Select all

#PlacesChevron { display: none !important; } /* tooltip: Show more bookmarks */
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

morat wrote:Try these:

Code: Select all

#nav-bar-overflow-button { display: none !important; } /* tooltip: More tools… */

Code: Select all

#PlacesChevron { display: none !important; } /* tooltip: Show more bookmarks */
The second one worked, thanks.

However, I still can't get more than one row to display (and I did try the previous userchrome codes).
roninx
Posts: 106
Joined: May 25th, 2017, 3:07 pm

Re: Hide overflow button

Post by roninx »

Should I start a new thread for the remaining issue?
Post Reply