MozillaZine

Many tabs makes the X and audio icon dissapear

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
klappa
 
Posts: 119
Joined: April 26th, 2006, 4:46 pm
Location: Sweden

Post Posted August 7th, 2019, 3:02 am

When i have many tabs visible it makes the X and the audio icon dissapear, they will be pushed out they're almost gone. The more tabs the more the vanish. What can i do abou this problem? I have another problem and that the tabs get's to thin and the their respective icons also almost dissapear.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 7th, 2019, 6:47 am

klappa wrote:When i have many tabs visible it makes the X and the audio icon dissapear, they will be pushed out they're almost gone. The more tabs the more the vanish. What can i do abou this problem? I have another problem and that the tabs get's to thin and the their respective icons also almost dissapear.


Type about:config in the address bar.
Search for browser.tabs.tabMinWidth.
The default is a value of 76
Adjust the size until you are happy.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

klappa
 
Posts: 119
Joined: April 26th, 2006, 4:46 pm
Location: Sweden

Post Posted August 8th, 2019, 3:19 am

WaltS48 wrote:
klappa wrote:When i have many tabs visible it makes the X and the audio icon dissapear, they will be pushed out they're almost gone. The more tabs the more the vanish. What can i do abou this problem? I have another problem and that the tabs get's to thin and the their respective icons also almost dissapear.


Type about:config in the address bar.
Search for browser.tabs.tabMinWidth.
The default is a value of 76
Adjust the size until you are happy.


Thanks but that didn't work for me. I can't see a difference.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 8th, 2019, 7:08 am

What didn't work? You don't mention what values you tried.

You right clicked on the preference, selected "Modify", entered some values higher than 76, then clicked "OK" and opened multiple tabs?

I see an immediate change in tab width for any change I make to the preference.

You won't get the close "x" on every tab because it is only in the active tab.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

klappa
 
Posts: 119
Joined: April 26th, 2006, 4:46 pm
Location: Sweden

Post Posted August 16th, 2019, 3:53 pm

WaltS48 wrote:What didn't work? You don't mention what values you tried.

You right clicked on the preference, selected "Modify", entered some values higher than 76, then clicked "OK" and opened multiple tabs?

I see an immediate change in tab width for any change I make to the preference.

You won't get the close "x" on every tab because it is only in the active tab.


No the soundicon and the "x" still vanish to the right when the tabs gets to cramped. I want it similar to Chrome. It's funny when Chrome handles several dozen tabs better than Firefox now that it's impossible to have multiple rows.

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 17th, 2019, 6:43 am

klappa wrote:
WaltS48 wrote:What didn't work? You don't mention what values you tried.

You right clicked on the preference, selected "Modify", entered some values higher than 76, then clicked "OK" and opened multiple tabs?

I see an immediate change in tab width for any change I make to the preference.

You won't get the close "x" on every tab because it is only in the active tab.


No the soundicon and the "x" still vanish to the right when the tabs gets to cramped. I want it similar to Chrome. It's funny when Chrome handles several dozen tabs better than Firefox now that it's impossible to have multiple rows.


What values have you tried, can you provide a screen shot?
Last edited by WaltS48 on August 18th, 2019, 6:39 am, edited 1 time in total.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 52813
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted August 18th, 2019, 12:18 am

Are you using code in userChrome.css that can possibly cause this?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/userChrome.css

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16776
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted August 18th, 2019, 10:05 am

WaltS48 wrote:... can you provide a screen shot?


How to post a screenshot:
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Posting_a_scr ... _the_forum
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF Quantum 69.0.3 (64bit), TB 60.9.0 (32-bit) ║ Android 8.0/7.1.1: FF Mobile 68.1.1
No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20002
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted August 18th, 2019, 12:55 pm

Seems that by default, you should be getting favicon, a smidgen of the title, the X or the mute (if there is audio playing).

Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

WaltS48

User avatar
 
Posts: 4009
Joined: May 7th, 2010, 9:38 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA

Post Posted August 19th, 2019, 6:23 am

therube wrote:Seems that by default, you should be getting favicon, a smidgen of the title, the X or the mute (if there is audio playing).

Image


Only in the selected tab.

It might be that I am misunderstanding the OP's complaint that they want to see the close "x", mute and other missing items in all open tabs.
Linux Desktop - AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 455 3.3GHz | 8.0GB RAM | GeForce GT 630
Windows Notebook - AMD A8 7410 2.2GHz | 6.0GB RAM | AMD Radeon R5

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests