MozillaZine

Inspector auto-hide setting doesn't apply to login list?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
antic
 
Posts: 656
Joined: December 12th, 2004, 8:40 am
Location: Oz

Post Posted October 8th, 2019, 12:45 am

I'm trying to use the remote-debugging inspector (ctrl-shift-alt-i) to change the styling of the login dropdown list.

See:
Image


When the option "Disable Popup Auto-Hide" is ticked, menus etc. remain visible when I switch to the inspector, as expected. However, it doesn't seem to keep the login dropdown list on screen. When the login list is shown, it disappears again as soon as I switch to the Inspector.

Is there another way to keep the login list visible while using the Inspector to find the styles for it?

morat
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2019, 5:10 am

I can use the Pick an element from the page button in the Browser Toolbox to select the element in the inspector tab.

* set devtools.chrome.enabled pref to true
* set devtools.debugger.remote-enabled pref to true
* set devtools.debugger.prompt-connection pref to false
* set devtools.inspector.showAllAnonymousContent pref to true

Code: Select all
/* Firefox userChrome.css */

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

#PopupAutoComplete > richlistbox > richlistitem[originaltype="loginsFooter"] {
  color: red !important;
  background-color: pink !important;
}

http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.css

antic
 
Posts: 656
Joined: December 12th, 2004, 8:40 am
Location: Oz

Post Posted October 8th, 2019, 9:19 am

Thanks for the help! I have those settings as you've shown, but strangely it still doesn't want to keep the login dropdown open for me. It works with everything else - menus, context menu, etc. but just not that one thing. I'll try disabling addons to see if that helps.

Thanks for the example though, that's actually the element I wanted to change. :)

morat
 
Posts: 3439
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted October 8th, 2019, 10:32 am

Here is how I do it.

* focus username input element on test page in browser window
* click pick an element button in browser toolbox
* switch to browser window using operating system taskbar
* middle click view saved logins

Test page
http://forums.mozillazine.org/ucp.php?mode=login

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daifne, skuddle and 16 guests