MozillaZine

ESR update to 68.2 from 60.9

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 23rd, 2019, 8:34 am

I've been happy with what seems the 60.xxx level of ESR...but now I see that the next update for this version is jumping to 68.2. So, I'm wondering if my tried and true extensions in my current version are going to blow up again as they did in the past with the new Firefox format.... anybody know the skinny on this? PS... I've attempted to locate meaningful answers to some of the basic for this version jump but could not find anything that would give me the answers.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4598
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 23rd, 2019, 9:15 am

thats the forced upgrade from 60esr to 68.2.0 esr. mozilla grants 2 builds time and 68.2.0 is 3rd build now after 68.0, 68.1.
as the following table points out 60.9.0 esr is the latest 60esr, the next upgrade can only be 68.2.0
https://wiki.mozilla.org/Release_Management/Calendar

thus 60esr has been phased out now and is out of support.

Duck_Dodgers
 
Posts: 43
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm
Location: 24th-and-a-half-Century

Post Posted October 23rd, 2019, 7:36 pm

I only use NoScript and uBlock Origin. Both have been working fine since I upgraded to 68.2.0 esr when it came out. I'm on Windows 10 Pro.

Now, if only I could get rid of the new image on top of the "Bookmark this Page" fly-out, I'd be happy. Haven't looked into doing that yet.

Mike
Quack! Quack!

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4598
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted October 24th, 2019, 6:31 am

userChrome.css
Code: Select all
#mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel #editBookmarkPanelInfoArea #editBookmarkPanelRecommendation #cfrMessageContainer,
#mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel .panel-header #editBookmarkPanelInfoButton,
#main-window #mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel #editBookmarkPanelInfoArea
{
    display: none !important;
}

#main-window #mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel .panel-header #editBookmarkPanelTitle
{
    margin-left: 0px !important;
}

in main you need first, 2nd is cosmetics for an element in that panel when the others are hidden

kukla
 
Posts: 847
Joined: December 30th, 2008, 3:59 pm

Post Posted October 24th, 2019, 10:10 am

A few disabled, but all good in 68.2:

Image

Duck_Dodgers
 
Posts: 43
Joined: December 6th, 2007, 3:47 pm
Location: 24th-and-a-half-Century

Post Posted October 24th, 2019, 5:53 pm

Brummelchen wrote:userChrome.css
Code: Select all
#mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel #editBookmarkPanelInfoArea #editBookmarkPanelRecommendation #cfrMessageContainer,
#mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel .panel-header #editBookmarkPanelInfoButton,
#main-window #mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel #editBookmarkPanelInfoArea
{
    display: none !important;
}

#main-window #mainPopupSet #editBookmarkPanel .panel-header #editBookmarkPanelTitle
{
    margin-left: 0px !important;
}

in main you need first, 2nd is cosmetics for an element in that panel when the others are hidden


Thanks, @Brummelchen !
Quack! Quack!

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 25th, 2019, 7:38 am

Thanks all... I also have the portable version of my ESR in here...it has all the exts. that my installed version has...so, I waited till I saw that the portable site had the latest update for it... updated it and all my extensions are good... so, I'll update this installed version soon.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 26th, 2019, 8:16 am

Everything seems to work OK.. but it took me a day to figure out why my pages looked different... then I noticed that I no longer have 'tabs on bottom' ... I checked my Userchrome.css file and did a search for the word 'bottom' and found two entries. This profile is pretty old so having those two entries is just that over time I must have had to add another one due to 'another' Firefox update.

They are....

Code: Select all
/* Tabs on Bottom */
  #TabsToolbar {
      -moz-box-ordinal-group: 100!important;


AND

Code: Select all
.tab-bottom-line {
  display: none !important;


Not being a coder for CSS stuff ... not sure, but that last one doesn't look like it handles putting tabs on the bottom.

So, if anybody feels like posting the now working code here I would appreciate it very much.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 26th, 2019, 8:32 am

PS... I see where dickvl posted what he uses but I can't believe all that code takes the place of the simple code that I had before the update.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=3055784&hilit=tabs+on+bottom
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9575
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted October 26th, 2019, 8:32 am

DF, FWIW I'd keep the .css stuff to the bare minimum, every update seems to break something for someone, 71b just nuked my Hamburger Button on the far left in the tab bar code.
#KeepFightingMichael

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38842
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 26th, 2019, 8:40 am

df,
This is the old code that dickvl reckons does not work in the latest versions...

Code: Select all
 @namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

/* (Remove the existing code that does not work in v66, but does in v62 etc.) */

/* TABS: on bottom */
#navigator-toolbox toolbar:not(#nav-bar):not(#toolbar-menubar) {-moz-box-ordinal-group:10}
#TabsToolbar {-moz-box-ordinal-group:1000!important}

#TabsToolbar {
 position: absolute !important;
 bottom: 0 !important;
 width: 100vw !important;
}

#tabbrowser-tabs {
  width: 100vw !important;
}

#main-window:not([chromehidden*="toolbar"]) #navigator-toolbox {padding-bottom: calc(0px + var(--tab-min-height)) !important;}



Try it & see if it works?
If not, then use the new version he posted.
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 27th, 2019, 7:13 am

Thankyou LIMPET235.... that above code worked fine... now I'm back to the norm.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 38842
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted October 27th, 2019, 7:43 am

Geeze eh!
Yaz lucky that I still had that old version around.
:)
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/Intel® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

dfoulkes

User avatar
 
Posts: 22575
Joined: June 28th, 2008, 10:31 pm
Location: Mesquite, Nevada

Post Posted October 27th, 2019, 8:11 am

Yeah... now we just have to wait and see if another update messes with this and other code... one of the things that Mozilla provided long ago was to allow these types of CSS coding entries into the browser... yet it seems that with almost every release code breaks (again) ... that is not a great sales-pitch...especially if Moz wants the world of everyday users to enjoy all of the tweaks in the browser... know what I mean?

In the case of this supposed corporate version of Firefox... I can just see a company like
G.M., or a telco giant waking up in the morning and finding that thousands of their Firefox users are in a mess.
As you can see she's (The CAT) always alert and on the prowl for Meoware !!

Clueless in Seattle

User avatar
 
Posts: 424
Joined: March 27th, 2006, 11:58 am
Location: duh!

Post Posted October 31st, 2019, 12:09 pm

I'd be grateful if someone could point me to instructions for using the code that LIMPET235 posted with the comment: "Try it & see if it works?." I foolishly allowed Firefox to update to 68.2.0esr and my tabs got relocated again.

I'm one of those old-timers who prefers having their tabs immediately above the web pages that they refer to. But my computer skills have gotten rusty in my old age, and I haven't a clue how to use the solution that LIMPET235 provided.

What I'm hoping for is either a list of step-by-step instructions, or a youtube video.
Will in Seattle
a.k.a. "Clueless"

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 11 guests