MozillaZine

Unable to connect to Linksys router: "cookies are required"

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
tashaThunderbird
 
Posts: 16
Joined: July 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 8:12 am

Firefox 70.0.1 (64-bit), windows 7

Tried to browse to the wi-fi router at 192.168.1.1. Router says
"
Cookies are required
Cookies are required to use Linksys Smart Wi-Fi tools. Please change the security settings in your browser to enable cookies.
"

I have never had trouble connecting to the router before. I don't do it often, maybe the last time was with Firefox 68.something .

I have tried various 'Enhanced Tracking Protection' options in Firefox:
"Standard" - still getting the cookie problem
"Custom" with Cookies unchecked - still getting the cookie problem

There is no problem with Chrome.

Any ideas?

Thanks

tashaThunderbird
 
Posts: 16
Joined: July 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 8:13 am

(I forgot to click 'notify me when a reply is posted'.)

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 8:59 am

mighty pointed out an antivirus with active web filter can cause this.
maybe you should try a new clean profile. if it happens too - if yes then its clear.

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Creating_a_ne ... on_Windows
or
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager

redwolfe_98
 
Posts: 259
Joined: September 26th, 2008, 2:13 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 10:30 am

you need to allow cookies. you also have to allow javascript, if you have javascript restricted from running, like if you are using the "noscript" extension.
find answers at "Mozilla Support":
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/products/firefox

tashaThunderbird
 
Posts: 16
Joined: July 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 11:04 am

Brummelchen: I don't have an active web filter.

redwolfe_98: I do allow cookies. Firefox shows lots of cookies at lots of sites. Javascript works too.

redwolfe_98
 
Posts: 259
Joined: September 26th, 2008, 2:13 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 11:17 am

tashaThunderbird wrote:I do allow cookies

so, check the "privacy settings" and see if FF's "tracker blocking" is disabled, or not. it is possible that the tracker blocking is blocking the cookies, if it has not been disabled.

incidentally, you need to update to FF 70.0.1 if you haven't already done that. there was an issue with FF 70.0 where some webpages wouldn't load properly:

https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/7 ... easenotes/
find answers at "Mozilla Support":
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/products/firefox

redwolfe_98
 
Posts: 259
Joined: September 26th, 2008, 2:13 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 11:25 am

p.s. it is possible that there also is an issue with the "TLS handshake" if you are using a "secure" "HTTPS" connection for connecting the router:

https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/m ... -timeouts/

(i also use a linksys router and i just use the default "http" for connecting the router but it has an option for using a "secure" HTTPS connection, which i never use)
find answers at "Mozilla Support":
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/products/firefox

tashaThunderbird
 
Posts: 16
Joined: July 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 2:32 pm

Thanks.

I was getting those TLS handshake message on all sites. I've tried http and https on the router, both give me the cookie error.

Maybe if I clear profile data, things will change. However, I can't figure out how to export then later import saved logins.

redwolfe_98
 
Posts: 259
Joined: September 26th, 2008, 2:13 am
Location: South Carolina, USA

Post Posted November 2nd, 2019, 5:09 pm

make sure that you have updated FF to FF build 70.0.1, which is the latest version.

also, again, go to FF's "privacy" settings and, in "Enhanced Tracking Protection," in the "custom" settings, make sure that only "third-party cookies" are blocked (NOT "block all cookies," which would include blocking first-party cookies, which you don't want blocked).

within those same "Enhanced Tracking Protection"settings, i also would disable the other options, there, ie "block tracking content," "block cryptominers" and "block fingerprinters."

i have heard some people say that blocking "fingerprinters" caused a problem with logging in to some websites, where allowing fingerprinters resolved the problem.

i use the "adblock plus" extension and rely on it to block whatever needs to be blocked rather than relying on FF's built-in ""Enhanced Tracking Protection," which is based on "disconnect":

https://disconnect.me/

in other words, i have confidence in "adblock plus" but not in "disconnect".

like someone else said, it is possible that the avast av-program is causing a problem. i am not saying that it is a bad program but i have heard that the web-filtering of many av-programs has the potential for causing problems-and so it is recommended to use the "windows defender" program instead. i am talking about the "windows defender" program that is built into windows 10. if you are using windows 7, which might not have the SAME "windows defender" program, that is a different story.
Last edited by redwolfe_98 on November 4th, 2019, 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
find answers at "Mozilla Support":
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/products/firefox

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 4:24 am

i need to deactivate uBlock here for my zyxel and netgear, but firefox has full activated features. either a specific issue with linksys here or as noted another antivirus. concerning the tls timeout i read several questions but all were dead since october, the october patch possibly had resolved it.

tashaThunderbird
 
Posts: 16
Joined: July 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 8:54 am

Thanks,redwolfe_98. I tried the FF privacy options you suggested, but the router still gives me that "cookies must be enabled" message. I guess I'll use Vivaldi instead of FF.
I use uBlock Origin for ad blocking and Norton Antivirus. From what I've heard about windows Defender on win7, I'm not going to use that.

I'd like to clear caches, cookies, etc, but I don't see how to export/import saved logins in FF anymore. Ugh.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 10:19 am

have you tried a new profile as i suggested above?

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10761
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted November 3rd, 2019, 6:51 pm

Since browsers use cookie settings to gate access to other kinds of storage, the message can sometimes indicate a problem in that area. Does the following diagnostic show all storage working normally on your Firefox:

https://firefox-storage-test.glitch.me/

tashaThunderbird
 
Posts: 16
Joined: July 11th, 2013, 7:21 am

Post Posted November 4th, 2019, 6:42 am

jscher2000: yes, it shows all storage working normally.

Anyway, on the FF Options --> Browser Privacy page, I unclicked "Block dangerous and deceptive content" and the cookie problem went away. FF now connects to the router just like it did a couple of FF versions ago.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests