MozillaZine

Be forewarned--FF 71 moves your tabs again

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53045
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2019, 8:41 am

When I move the "3-bar" Firefox menu button to the left via -moz-box-ordinal-group:0 then I have the problem that the drop-down list still open to the left and is thus outside the Firefox window.
I haven't been able to modify the alignment of the arrow from right (after_end) to left (after_start) as this is done via an attribute set via JavaScript (arrowposition="after_end") and not by CSS code.

Anybody know a way of how to fix this and make the "3-bar" Firefox menu button drop-down list open within the Firefox window ?

This works properly with the developer tools button in the left position (arrowposition="after_start") and in the right position (arrowposition="after_end") as moved via customize mode, but apparently not when you move an item via -moz-box-ordinal-group.

Is there another way to move the "3-bar" Firefox menu button to the left end via CSS?

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12345
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted December 4th, 2019, 8:57 am

Sounds like it needs some form of left or right justification factor, maybe a negative window location. Like a text justification, r,l,c.
is "layout.css.text-justify.enabled" ??
Cashless society sacrifices independence, privacy and lastly liberty, encouraged by ignorance and villainy.

alpine5536
 
Posts: 118
Joined: June 29th, 2015, 10:23 am

Post Posted December 4th, 2019, 4:07 pm

Not only did 71 trash my userchrome and all my custom settings, it completely changed the appearance of my user interface. Looks like Mozilla is taking update lessons from Microsoft. No more updates for me, extensions only. I had to recover with an image to get a decent browser back. If anyone from Mozilla is reading this, there's an old saying. If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20620
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted December 4th, 2019, 4:44 pm

dickvl wrote:Anybody know a way of how to fix this and make the "3-bar" Firefox menu button drop-down list open within the Firefox window ?

When I used to bring stuff right out of the addressbar, I used the heavy artillery of moz-margin-start and -moz-margin-end to force it out (both are needed). Maybe that would work here?
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

ghot

User avatar
 
Posts: 195
Joined: August 10th, 2007, 3:52 pm

Post Posted December 4th, 2019, 8:25 pm

Just so ya know it's possible with FF 71.0 I'm on Win 7 x64 (set to classic view). I'm using: custom_css_for_fx_v2.7.9.zip from...

https://github.com/Aris-t2/CustomCSSforFx/releases/tag/2.7.9

It seems they are up to version 2.9.0, but 2.7.9 is working for me.

Image



/edit Here's the main release page; https://github.com/Aris-t2/CustomCSSforFx/releases

On the Customize screen, I check marked the Title Bar box, and the Menu Bar option (only). I set the Density to "Compact"



/edit 2 I just switched to the 2.90 version and all I had to do was hide the Hamburger button. I just set it like the old 2.79 version, and then hid the Hamburger Button. I know this isn't as easy as just a few lines of code, but I like it better.
We the willing, led by the unknowing, have been doing the impossible for the ungrateful. We have been doing so much, for so long, with so little, we are now qualified to do anything with nothing.

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 1:14 am

Frank Lion wrote:https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=755593


OK Frank, how hard, in terms of passwords and bookmarks would it be for an old fart like me to convert to Seamonkey?

I'm going to preview the portable version and will be back Saturday to read responses.


EDIT: Frank, did some quick reading here, and on the weekend I'm using what's already posted and converting to SeaMonkey,
as two of my favourite extensions, ABP and NoScript are available for it.
Tired of the FF team changing things on me.

Brummelchen
 
Posts: 4616
Joined: March 19th, 2005, 10:51 am

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 2:16 am

Mozilla is not responsible for your tweaks. Mozilla is converting all code to xhtml and kick off xul, so changes are to expect!

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 3:41 am

Brummelchen wrote:Mozilla is not responsible for your tweaks. Mozilla is converting all code to xhtml and kick off xul, so changes are to expect!


If you can't be constructive to those of us who like our tabs below the address bar, then;
https: youtube.com/watch?v=nc_LIR5ExIU&feature=youtu.be
Last edited by LIMPET235 on December 6th, 2019, 4:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: A little link editing. (In appropriate content & comment.)

Frank Lion

User avatar
 
Posts: 20620
Joined: April 23rd, 2004, 6:59 pm
Location: ... The Exorcist....United Kingdom

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 3:56 am

Mudder wrote:OK Frank, how hard, in terms of passwords and bookmarks would it be for an old fart like me to convert to Seamonkey?

I don't follow what Firefox are up to these days, but there's this for it for exporting passwords - https://github.com/kspearrin/ff-passwor ... /README.md (SM also has an extension for import/exporting them).

For Firefox bookmarks you can always just export them as HTML and import that into SM or there may be a Firefox extension that exports the places.sqlite that would grab bookmarks, history, etc.

There are a couple of easy things to do on SM itself that make it much more usable to new users, but that's better off being discussed in the SeaMonkey forums.
Metal Lion latest SeaMonkey & Thunderbird Themes - Sea Monkey and Silver Sea Monkey
"The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil, is for good men to do nothing." - Edmund Burke (attrib.)

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 9:48 am

Frank Lion wrote:There are a couple of easy things to do on SM itself that make it much more usable to new users, but that's better off being discussed in the SeaMonkey forums.

dickvl wrote:You also need to add a display: block !important; property to this rule for Firefox 70 and later:
Code: Select all
#TabsToolbar {
 display: block !important;
 position: absolute !important;
 bottom: 0 !important;
 width: 100vw !important;
}


Frank...gave up trying to find NoScript and ABP for Seamonkey, after I applied this fix, my tabs are where I want them again.
Still DO NOT appreciate Brummelchen's arrogant and non-constructive comments. Nor LIMPET235's interference in my justified angry response.
Line "display: block !important; " was the 'important' factor, it was absent from my previous incarnation of Aris' script.

I think I'll send some donation money to the creators of K-Meleon, who saw fit to still support XP {which I still use on my "TV" / PVR setup} .

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20265
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 10:17 am

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Mudder

User avatar
 
Posts: 67
Joined: July 7th, 2013, 4:14 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

Post Posted December 6th, 2019, 10:32 am

[quote="therube"][/quote]

Thanks, will go for it on weekend.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 18 guests