MozillaZine

Adblockplus + how to remove it

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
petergo
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 12th, 2019, 4:20 pm

hi there

using win 10 pro and FF ver 71.0 64bit

I noticed FF was getting cranky and slowing down badly, ran Zemana antimalware, and it found 106 threats in my Users profile related to Adblockplus.

I do not see it in my extensions.

I tried to uninstall using windows Programs and Features, and also Revo Uninstaller, but I do not see it anywhere

May I kindly ask , how do I get rid of this pesky malware please

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10851
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted December 13th, 2019, 12:33 am

The genuine Adblock Plus extension is not malware. Anyway, remove extensions using the Add-ons page, Ctrl+Shift+A, click Extensions in the left column, find the one that needs to go and click its ... menu button.

petergo
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 13th, 2019, 12:56 am

thank you sir,

I mentioned in my message, there is no Adblockplus in my extensions!!

cheers
peter

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10851
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted December 13th, 2019, 8:32 am

Hi Peter, where are the "hits" found exactly? For example (substitute your own username and profile folder name):

Storage folder (extension and website data is stored here):

C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\abcd1234.default-release\storage\default

Cache (files from websites are stored here):

C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\abcd1234.default-release\cache2

or somewhere else?

petergo
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 12:53 am

good morning J

sorry for not getting back sooner, but I did not receive a notification that a reply had been posted.
Today, I just checked back to see if anyone posted anything, and I see you have.
Thank you for that!

I will run scans today, and report back with an answer to your question.

In the mean time, I went to the folder you suggested (.... storage/default ) and there are over 900 folders in it
None have anything with adblcock that I could see.

more at 11 <smiles>

have a great day, and thanks again
peter

petergo
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 7:01 am

hi J

ran virus and antimalware proggies, and only Zemana found anything

Great improvement from the other day when it found 106 quarantine-able items, and today only 4 of them

Going to my profile/default, I found a folder called Adblockplus
I am certain it was not there the other day

It still does not appear in my extensions when I have FF open.

Can I simply delete the Adblockplus folder, as I can't find the app or program in revo uninstaller or Programs and features in control Panel?

thanks J, have a super sunday
peter

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39056
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 7:04 am

Hi Peter,

To put things simply.....Yes.
Delete the folder.

I take it that you've never installed Ad Block Plus at any time?
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

petergo
 
Posts: 1079
Joined: January 21st, 2005, 7:34 am

Post Posted December 15th, 2019, 7:10 am

g'day Mr.L

Season's greetings m8, and special best wishes for you and family for 2020

I don't recall ever installing it, but at my age, I have difficulty remembering my own name.

thanks for the info, and I will uninstall it

Do you think or know if deleting the folder, will stop FF ( latest version) from getting cranky and slowing down about half way through the day.
I restart FF, and I am good for rest of day

thanks again
cheers
peter

PS... good to see the notify me when reply is working!!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 7 guests