MozillaZine

FF 72.0 new tab shows selected Home page only some times

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Hans L
 
Posts: 597
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 9:51 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 10:28 am

When I open a new tab, it shows my Home page only some times, in spite of being set to do so always (and did in FF 71.0). Has someone else experienced this in FF 72.0, and found a solution?

Thanks in advance,

Hans L

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 122514
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 10:42 am

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Hans L
 
Posts: 597
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 9:51 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 11:41 am

Yes, even with a new update (72.0.1) that was just installed. When I open FF, the Home page tab opens as it should, but if I open a new tab (either by deleting the last tab or clicking for a new tab), I get a blank page.

Oooops, I now know why I get a blank page (can't believe it): In Tools > Options > Home

New Windows and Tabs: Firefox Home (default), Custom URL [my choice], Blank Page

New tabs: Firefox Home (default), Blank Page [Custom URL excluded]

Are the FF people starting to get exhausted?

Is there any way to include Custom URL in Tabs?

Regards,

Hans L

Hans L
 
Posts: 597
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 9:51 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 11:48 am

And now, you cannot right-click a tab and find "Open in new window'. Is this the deconstruction of FF?

Hans L

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53000
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 1:53 pm

Hover "Move Tab" in the Tab context menu to find "Move to New Window".

Hans L
 
Posts: 597
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 9:51 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 2:00 pm

Dick, thank you!

Hans L

Hans L
 
Posts: 597
Joined: November 3rd, 2003, 9:51 pm

Post Posted January 9th, 2020, 2:36 pm

As for New tab opening custom URL, I believe now that I had made a change in the UserChrome.css before. I have now installed Extension Custom New Tab Page, and it works.

Thanks for help.

Hans L

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 12 guests