MozillaZine

Automatic Refresh

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
widgetwilk
 
Posts: 34
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 12:36 am

Post Posted February 7th, 2020, 9:12 am

Have been using FF for years and in the past every time I turn it on it is always refreshed, but just lately it is not doing it, I am on 72.0.2 and it says it is up to date.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 43908
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted February 7th, 2020, 2:35 pm

It is up to date. Firefox 73 is still in the beta stage
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

widgetwilk
 
Posts: 34
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 12:36 am

Post Posted February 8th, 2020, 1:02 am

It says it 'up to date'

LIMPET235
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39001
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 1:53 am
Location: The South Coast of N.S.W. Oz.

Post Posted February 8th, 2020, 2:49 am

Moving to Firefox Support..
Ancient Amateur Astronomer
Win-7-HP/IntelĀ® DualCore-2.0GHz/500G HDD/4 Gig Ram/550Watt PSU/350WattUPS/Firefox-20.0-62.0-70.0/T-bird-2.0.0.24/SnagIt-v10.0.1/MWP-7.12.
(Always choose the "Custom" Install.)

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10784
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted February 9th, 2020, 10:16 am

Were you running "Nightly" before? The other releases do not update every day.

widgetwilk
 
Posts: 34
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 12:36 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2020, 11:59 am

[quote="jscher2000"]Were you running "Nightly" ????
do you mean leaving the computer on??? or what do you mean by 'running Hightly'

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9676
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted February 9th, 2020, 12:31 pm

#KeepFightingMichael

widgetwilk
 
Posts: 34
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 12:36 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2020, 2:26 pm

mightyglydd wrote:http://www.montypython.net/sounds/sketches/happyloon.wav


What are you on about?????? :?: :?: :?: :?:

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53002
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 9th, 2020, 10:04 pm

widgetwilk wrote:
jscher2000 wrote:Were you running "Nightly" ????

do you mean leaving the computer on??? or what do you mean by 'running Hightly'


There are several other Firefox versions meant for testers each with their own update channel and one of them is the Firefox Nightly build (currently Firefox 74).
These test versions are updated twice daily (Nightly) or twice weekly (Beta, DE).
https://www.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/channel/desktop/

widgetwilk
 
Posts: 34
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 12:36 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2020, 1:50 am

No just says Firefox Browser, can't put screen shot on here,
but as I said, I have 4/5 favorites sites open in the toolbar, so when I open the browser all of them open, they use to all be a new page, but now they are not, and I have to refresh to get the latest news/posts.
I have been to Tools/Options/Home and have that ticked right.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53002
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2020, 3:26 am

Do you mean that Firefox loads these bookmarks from the disk cache and that you need to refresh the tabs to get fresh content ?

You can use "Clear history when Firefox closes" to clear the Cache to prevent Firefox from loading the pages from the disk cache.

To see the History settings, go to:
Options -> Privacy & Security
Firefox will: "Use custom settings for history"
"Clear history when Firefox closes" -> Settings -> Cache
You can remove the checkmark on all other items unless you want to remove some.
Note that clearing Cookies this way will remove all cookies including cookies with an allow exception.
You can use "Delete cookies and site data when Firefox is closed" instead.

See also:
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/fi ... d-settings

widgetwilk
 
Posts: 34
Joined: August 14th, 2005, 12:36 am

Post Posted February 10th, 2020, 3:36 am

Thanks, I have 'remember History' and 'Clear History' all else is ticked.
in that 'remember History' it has 'never rember' ans 'use custom setting'
What now???

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10784
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted February 19th, 2020, 4:39 pm

widgetwilk wrote:Thanks, I have 'remember History' and 'Clear History' all else is ticked.
in that 'remember History' it has 'never rember' ans 'use custom setting'
What now???


Did it work? To summarize, you change

Firefox will: Remember history

to

Firefox will: Use custom settings for history

Keep a check mark for "Remember browsing and download history" and whatever you prefer for "Remember search and form history".

Add a check mark for "Clear history when Firefox closes" then click its Settings button and make sure the ONLY box checked here is Cache. OK that.

Now, when you exit Firefox, it should dump the cache. When you start up, since Firefox is not able to show a cached version of your home pages (or other pages), it will need to retrieve them fresh from the source.

Is that working?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests