MozillaZine

Something keeps adding yandex to topSiteSearchShortcuts

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
basinilya
 
Posts: 23
Joined: April 20th, 2011, 12:49 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2020, 8:42 am

Hi.
I was playing with about:config and noticed this non-default setting:
Code: Select all
browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.improvesearch.topSiteSearchShortcuts.havePinned="yandex"

I tried to reset it, but after a few minutes the value re-appears. How to find who's setting it? Or maybe Firefox sets it?

There are no installed addons. There are 3 plugins: Cisco OpenH264, Google Widewine and Shockwave. There's no Yandex software according to appwiz.cpl.

Grumpus

User avatar
 
Posts: 12395
Joined: October 19th, 2007, 4:23 am
Location: ... Da' Swamp

Post Posted March 20th, 2020, 11:45 am

Search in about:config for all the Yahoo settings
Also look at all the newtabpage settings.
Yandex is a yahoo thing.
Check in your preferences to make sure you are not allowing automatic installs and updates you don't want.
Specifically in /tools/options/Privacy & security but also in general and search
Cashless society sacrifices independence, privacy and lastly liberty, encouraged by ignorance and villainy.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53087
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 20th, 2020, 6:22 pm

Do you see the Yandex search engine listed on the "Help -> Troubleshooting Information" (about:support) page or when you type '@' in the location bar ?

You need to check search engines in "Options/Preferences -> Security".
You should be able to remove (Unpin) search engines visible on the Firefox Home page via the three-dot menu of this tile.

You can possibly set this pref to false on the about:config page to disable showing pinned search engines.
browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.improvesearch.topSiteSearchShortcuts = false

See also:
browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.improvesearch.topSiteSearchShortcuts.havePinned
browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.improvesearch.topSiteSearchShortcuts.searchEngines

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44011
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted March 21st, 2020, 3:21 pm

What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 10923
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted March 21st, 2020, 4:01 pm

Yandex is a built-in search engine in certain locales where Russian is spoken.

Could you check whether you have a "study" related to search or the new tab page? See: https://support.mozilla.org/kb/shield

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53087
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 21st, 2020, 6:54 pm

All search engines including Yandex are builtin in all Firefox locales depending in what area (region) you are.
It is merely the list.json file that determines what search engines get enabled (visibleDefaultEngines).
resource://search-extensions/
resource://search-extensions/list.json

Did you check these prefs ?
browser.newtabpage.activity-stream.improvesearch.topSiteSearchShortcuts

basinilya
 
Posts: 23
Joined: April 20th, 2011, 12:49 am

Post Posted March 23rd, 2020, 1:45 am

dickvl wrote:Do you see the Yandex search engine listed on the "Help -> Troubleshooting Information" (about:support) page

yes, it says: enabled: true. There are other items with the suffix: @search.mozilla.org

dickvl wrote:or when you type '@' in the location bar ?

no. I only see @google

How can it be in visibleDefaultEngines and not available for selection?

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53087
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted March 23rd, 2020, 2:24 am

Only some selected search engines are available.
For other you can add a keyword that starts with '@' (@yd) by double-clicking in the keyword column in "Options -> Search" to have them appear as a choice in the drop-down list.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 7 guests