MozillaZine

Bitchute not working...

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 333
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 2nd, 2020, 10:55 pm

52.9.0 Firefox 32 bit here.

I have two profiles.
My new one that I have been using for at least six months now (it was supposed to be a test profile),
and my old 'main profile'.

Bitchute videos won't work with my new profile but will work with my main profile.

Obviously there are some key differences that I haven't a clue about, which are causing this.
Can anyone point me in the right direction to fix this?

It's a bummer to have to close FF and re-start the main profile just to view the Bitchute videos.

Also, I'm ready to commit to my new profile as the new main one.
Each time I start FF I select the profile I want, but that slows things down.

How can I turn off this profile selection menu, but quickly bring it back if I want to?

TIA!

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53146
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted May 4th, 2020, 11:02 am

You can create desktop shortcuts that specify the profile (-P profile).
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Com ... ne_Options

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20459
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 4th, 2020, 1:03 pm

What is a "Bitchute video"?
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 333
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 4th, 2020, 10:36 pm

therube wrote:What is a "Bitchute video"?


It's an alternative to Youtube.

https://www.bitchute.com/

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 333
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 4th, 2020, 10:38 pm

dickvl wrote:You can create desktop shortcuts that specify the profile (-P profile).
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Com ... ne_Options


Thanks dick I'll check that out.

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 333
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2020, 5:05 pm

dickvl wrote:You can create desktop shortcuts that specify the profile (-P profile).
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/Com ... ne_Options


HI Dick can you please give me a little more guidance for creating a desktop shortcut?

The name of one profile is "default". I'm using WinXP.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20459
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 8th, 2020, 6:05 am

Each time I start FF I select the profile I want, but that slows things down.

So Profile Manager is opening.
The Profile Manager dialog has, "Use the selected profile without asking at startup".

Enable that.

Depending on your desktop shortcut, if it shows the -P parameter, remove it, & if it is not there, then there should be nothing more to do.

Close FF & see if it doesn't (now) open to your (above) selected profile - without prompting.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 333
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 8th, 2020, 6:16 pm

therube wrote:
Each time I start FF I select the profile I want, but that slows things down.

So Profile Manager is opening.
The Profile Manager dialog has, "Use the selected profile without asking at startup".

Enable that.

Depending on your desktop shortcut, if it shows the -P parameter, remove it, & if it is not there, then there should be nothing more to do.

Close FF & see if it doesn't (now) open to your (above) selected profile - without prompting.


Thanks rube. I am able to get the Profile Manager to come up and also select "No prompting for it".
But I don't know how to make desktop shortcuts for each profile I have.

My current desktop shortcut says: "C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"

I would like shortcuts for these:
firefox -P "default"
firefox -P "Test1"
firefox -P "Test2"

If I try to create something like this:
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe -P "default""

WinXP refuses to create it.

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20459
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 9th, 2020, 1:27 pm

Do you have an existing desktop shortcut?

Copy & paste (for however many new shortcuts you need).

Then Edit (including renaming to reflect their purpose) those new shortcuts, setting parameters as needed.

Your quotes above are likely wrong.
Probably should be more like:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"  -P  "default"


If you want to run Profiles simultaneously, you'll need the -no-remote switch in there.
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"  -P  -no-remote  "Test1"

('Default' probably is probably best left without the -no-remote switch.)
(Don't forget to disable updates - in each Profile, lest FF update you.)
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

MozillaMonkey
 
Posts: 333
Joined: April 21st, 2008, 7:52 pm

Post Posted May 11th, 2020, 5:29 pm

therube wrote:Do you have an existing desktop shortcut?

Copy & paste (for however many new shortcuts you need).

Then Edit (including renaming to reflect their purpose) those new shortcuts, setting parameters as needed.

Your quotes above are likely wrong.
Probably should be more like:
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"  -P  "default"


If you want to run Profiles simultaneously, you'll need the -no-remote switch in there.
Code: Select all
"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe"  -P  -no-remote  "Test1"

('Default' probably is probably best left without the -no-remote switch.)
(Don't forget to disable updates - in each Profile, lest FF update you.)


Thanks very much rube!
That worked out perfectly. :)
I didn't know I could run two profiles at the same time.

That solves half of my problem.
Now if I could only get Bitchute to work in my Test1 profile.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DinGo and 19 guests