MozillaZine

FF 76.0 x64 userChrome.css multirow not working

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
q12x
 
Posts: 38
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted May 6th, 2020, 6:58 pm

When Firefox updated today to version 76.0, my Multi Row hack stopped working.
I already have userChrome.css inside this folder:
C:\Users\xxx\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\m2uq0ire.default-release\chrome\userChrome.css
and inside about:config
toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets is set [true] (as before)
-
Inside FF, all the tabs are set on multirow and working as before,
but the problem is that only 1 row (and not 3 as was set before) is available.
So inside that 1 row height, you can still scroll the tabs.
this line: --multirow-n-rows: 3; inside userChrome.css is not working anymore.
-
Where can I find the documentation to resolve this problem?
or the easiest way, what should I change inside userChrome.css to resolve showing multi row back again?
Thank you.

https://i.imgur.com/da8GLAP.jpg

Image
Last edited by James on May 9th, 2020, 12:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: made as thumbnail link to fullsize

smsmith
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 19872
Joined: December 7th, 2004, 8:51 pm
Location: Indiana

Post Posted May 9th, 2020, 8:36 am

Better in Firefox Support, so I am moving this there.

I also removed your image tags because the size of the image makes the post page hard to use.
Give a man a fish, and he eats for a day. Teach a man to fish, and he eats for a lifetime.
I like poetry, long walks on the beach and poking dead things with a stick.
Please do not PM me for personal support. Keep posts here in the Forums instead and we all learn.

q12x
 
Posts: 38
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 12:27 pm

Post Posted May 13th, 2020, 11:33 pm

Shame on you Firefox staff, defecting purposely this very important functionality !
I find myself the solution here: https://techne.alaya.net/?p=19043

Basically, make an empty file: userChrome.css and move it here:
C:\Users\Teo\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\mqqqqqre.default-release\chrome\

Then make this configuration inside FF and restart:
about:config
toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets
true //if it’s set to false it means userChrome.css will be ignored.

userChrome.css content :
(just copy/paste this code inside your empty file)

/* Makes tabs to appear on multiple lines */
/* Tab reordering will not work and can't be made to work */
/* You can use multi-row_tabs_window_control_patch.css to move window controls to nav-bar*/

/* It's recommended to move tabs new-tab-button outside tabs toolbar */

/* Change the --multirow-n-rows to change maximum number of rows before the rows will start to scroll */
/* This maximum visible rows won't work before Fx66 */
/* So this setting does nothing on Fx65 and all tab rows will be shown */
:root{
--multirow-n-rows: 3;
--multirow-tab-min-width: 100px;
--multirow-tab-dynamic-width: 1; /* Change to 0 for fixed-width tabs using the above width. */
}

/* Scrollbar can't be clicked but the rows can be scrolled with mouse wheel */
/* Uncomment the next line if you want to be able to use the scrollbar with mouse clicks */

/* #tabbrowser-arrowscrollbox{ -moz-window-dragging: no-drag } */

/* Uncommenting the above makes you unable to drag the window from empty space in the tab strip but normal draggable spaces will continue to work */

#tabbrowser-tabs{
min-height: unset !important;
padding-inline-start: 0px !important
}

@-moz-document url(chrome://browser/content/browser.xhtml){
#scrollbutton-up~spacer,
#scrollbutton-up,
#scrollbutton-down{ display: var(--scrollbutton-display-model,initial) }

scrollbox[part][orient="horizontal"]{
display: flex;
flex-wrap: wrap;
overflow-y: auto;
max-height: calc(var(--tab-min-height) * var(--multirow-n-rows));
scrollbar-color: currentColor transparent;
scrollbar-width: thin;
}
}

#tabbrowser-arrowscrollbox{
overflow: -moz-hidden-unscrollable;
display: block;
--scrollbutton-display-model: none;
}

.tabbrowser-tab{ height: var(--tab-min-height); }

#tabbrowser-tabs .tabbrowser-tab[pinned]{
position: static !important;
margin-inline-start: 0px !important;
}

.tabbrowser-tab[fadein]:not([pinned]){
min-width: var(--multirow-tab-min-width) !important;
flex-grow: var(--multirow-tab-dynamic-width);
/*
Uncomment to enable full-width tabs, also makes tab dragging a tiny bit more sensible
Don't set to none or you'll see errors in console when closing tabs
*/
/*max-width: 100vw !important;*/
}

.tabbrowser-tab > stack{ width: 100%; height: 100% }

#alltabs-button,
:root:not([customizing]) #TabsToolbar #new-tab-button,
#tabbrowser-tabs spacer,
.tabbrowser-tab::after{ display: none !important }

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests