MozillaZine

External links causing Firefox must close notice

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16863
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2020, 8:43 am

When clicking links in TBird emails, FFox 76.0.1 now popping up this notice:
Image

I have it set to open external links in a new window and until recently this has worked well without the annoying need to close and restart FFox. Does same thing in Mozilla Safe Mode.

Is there any way to avoid this?
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 79.0 (64bit), TB 68.11.0 (32-bit) ║ Android 10/7.1.1: FF Mobile 68.11.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11000
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2020, 10:26 am

Can you confirm that you don't have two installations of Firefox? Some users earlier this year had a strange thing happen: their Firefox was installed in the legacy 32-bit programs folder but the update installed into the 64-bit programs folder, leading to installations in both of these places:

* C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\
* C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\

If the desktop shortcut starts one, while the path in the registry for URLs starts the other, then you would get a profile in use problem.

Note that if you use Microsoft Office, it is important to change your default browser at the system level to something else before deleting your default browser's program folder, or Office may be too stupid to find your new default browser again later. More on that problem: https://www.slipstick.com/problems/this-operation-has-been-cancelled-due-to-restrictions/

makaiguy

User avatar
 
Posts: 16863
Joined: November 18th, 2002, 6:44 pm
Location: Somewhere in SE USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2020, 11:58 am

I *DO* still have an old ESR installed in its own directory, but when I switched back away from ESR I renamed the ESR directory to break any old shortcuts or pre-existing links.

Only finding proper TBird and FFox links via regedit -- no mention of the ESR version path.

At any rate, when it initially loads from my desktop shortcut it loads the current 64-bit 76.0.1 version, and when it shuts down and reloads as a result of that popup it loads the same version.
Doug Wilson, "The Makai Guy"
Win10 (64bit): FF 79.0 (64bit), TB 68.11.0 (32-bit) ║ Android 10/7.1.1: FF Mobile 68.11.0, No TB for Android available, dammit!
What a fool believes he sees, no wise man has the power to reason away - Doobie Brothers

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20442
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted May 15th, 2020, 12:47 pm

With current FF, an external link will load (or attempt to load) your named "default" Profile (the profile defined with "Default=1" in profiles.ini).

If you are running FF 68 ESR (with 68 ESR *not* being your "default" Profile) & you have an application that says, open link in browser, FF 76 (assuming that is your default) will open (regardless of the fact that 68 happened to already be opened).


Might also look for a hung "firefox.exe" process (perhaps that didn't Quit fully, so has no UI, but persists as a process in Task Manager).
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 9 guests