MozillaZine

Drag and drop URLs to file manager?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 10:26 am

All of the firefox.exes run medium or low, that is OK?

Yes, that is fine.
Dirki wrote:FirefoxPortable.exe running high is OK as well?

therube wrote:(I don't know why that is high, if that is normal or expected?)


Next question is why is FreeCommander running at high?
Get that to medium & you should be OK.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Dirki
 
Posts: 809
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 11:08 am

(I don't know why that is high, if that is normal or expected?)

Sorry for missing that.

Next question is why is FreeCommander running at high?
Get that to medium & you should be OK.

Yes, but how to do it? I do not have any idea why it is running high.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 12:42 pm

Maybe from your desktop icon?
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Dirki
 
Posts: 809
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 1:09 pm

Thank you for the link. Sorry, what information is meant there?

The desktop icon obviously shows FreeCommander starts in admin mode, but it is not checked:
Image

And I do not start FC with that icon but with a shortcut. And when I click the FC exe file it also runs at high.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 1:29 pm

Then something else is causing it.
I plugged in the "portable" (ZIP, of you will) version of FC, & ran it.
It ran, medium.

Something on your end ? is causing it to run high for you?
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Dirki
 
Posts: 809
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 12th, 2020, 1:39 pm

Many thanks for trying.

I do not have any idea. I would think when the run as admin setting in the properties of the exe file is unchecked and I start that exe file by double clicking that exe it cannot run high / with admin rights...but obviously it can.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted June 22nd, 2020, 7:08 pm

Maybe when you installed it originally, you installed from an Admin account & that is affecting it?
Maybe you've disabled UAC & that is affecting things?
Don't know?
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Dirki
 
Posts: 809
Joined: February 27th, 2009, 7:12 am

Post Posted June 22nd, 2020, 10:34 pm

None of them (on purpose).

After running adwarecleaner (MalwarBytes) and restarting the Notebook to remove a pup it all works again. So it seems that was the cause.
- Windows 10 Home, 64bit
- newest stable portable Firefox (not beta)
- newest stable portable Thunderbird (not beta)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests