MozillaZine

Why is Firefox requesting my master password? (Linux)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
arcas

Post Posted June 5th, 2020, 7:16 am

Hi.

I'm running FF 77.01 on Red Hat Enterprise 7.8. I have a master password set but I moved all of my credentials to an external password manager last year so FF's password db is actually empty[1]. I also do not have 'sync' enabled. As such, FF doesn't normally ask for my password.

Very occasionally, I'll unlock my screen to find that FF is requesting me to enter the master password. For a while I was concerned that perhaps one of my FF extensions was trying to be sneaky and was trying access the (nonexistent) passwords when it detected the machine had been idle for a while. But I think something else is happening instead.

Yesterday I stumbled upon a website that causes FF to request the master password repeatedly, even in safe mode. I'm not an HTML/Javascript/CSS expert so I figured I'd ask here here: what is it about this site that causes FF to think that it needs my master password?

URL: https://ww3.rainbird.com/homeowner/support/video-RotorArcAdjust.htm

Does FF use the master password to encrypt site cookies or something? And if that's true, what's unique about this site? Why doesn't it happen for any site that wants to store persistent data?

Someone on another forum suggested that I enable debug logging for the FF password manager to see if anything interesting appears. I did so. One thing that stood out were dozens of "STATE_IS_BROKEN without a known reason" messages. However, none of the log messages seemed to correlate very well with the appearance of the password dialogs.

For example, in safe mode and with all cookies and history cleared. Upon entering the URL I was immediately shown the password dialog before anything was rendered. I then waited about 20 seconds before canceling the dialog at which the page began to render and another password dialog opened.

Code: Select all