MozillaZine

Firefox doesn't highlight the Google translator microphone.

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
FoxAdriano
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 12th, 2013, 4:12 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 2:56 pm

Hi, I use the Google translator a lot but in Firefox there isn't the mic. In fact, I can't use voice translation because the microphone doesn't appear at the bottom left of the text box.
If I were to use Google Chrome, the microphone there is and I can use it.
Someone can tell me how to make the microphone appear.
Thank you

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123369
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 3:56 pm

What's the specific URL for that site? I checked in MS Explorer and there is no visible microphone there either.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44074
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 4:06 pm

What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

morat
 
Posts: 3841
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 4:08 pm

Are you using the Flash plugin? Maybe the Flash plugin version is too old.

Similar thread
http://support.mozilla.org/questions/980576

Google Translate
http://translate.google.com/

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9885
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 4:16 pm

The website doesn't use Flash, on Chrome/Edge/Vivaldi a Microphone button appears next to the Speaker one.
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123369
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Ah. Thanks, mighty.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44074
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 4:41 pm

What! Google writing browser specific code....... oh the shame [-X
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

FoxAdriano
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 12th, 2013, 4:12 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 10:09 pm

DanRaisch wrote:What's the specific URL for that site? I checked in MS Explorer and there is no visible microphone there either.


This is the url: https://translate.google.it/

FoxAdriano
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 12th, 2013, 4:12 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 10:12 pm

morat wrote:Are you using the Flash plugin? Maybe the Flash plugin version is too old.

Similar thread
http://support.mozilla.org/questions/980576


My Firefox has Shockwave Flash but it is disabled.
Anyway I have just done an update of it and I left it disabled.

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9885
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 10:24 pm

That link's over six years old, and it's about the audio button, not the mike button.
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

FoxAdriano
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 12th, 2013, 4:12 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 10:25 pm

malliz wrote:https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/how-manage-your-camera-and-microphone-permissions#w_changing-microphone-permissions


Those steps of the link do't work with my Firefox.
In fact when I try to add the link "https://translate.google.it/", that link s not added in the box below (the website displays in the list below).
Both in the camera section and in the microphone section I have the same problem.
How can I solve that problem?

FoxAdriano
 
Posts: 43
Joined: January 12th, 2013, 4:12 am

Post Posted July 30th, 2020, 11:01 pm

1) I don't understand if all you see the mic. or not in https://translate.google.it/
2) Anyway I have just restarted Firefox disabling all add-ons, but I always get the same problem.

mgagnonlv
 
Posts: 761
Joined: February 12th, 2005, 8:33 pm

Post Posted July 31st, 2020, 10:54 am

Basically, Google created Google-specific code. So the microphone doesn't appear in Firefox, Microsoft Edge (the previous, non-Chromium version) and Internet Explorer (that's old, I know). Vivaldi and the new Edge are all using the same engine as Google Chrome and therefore show the microphone.

The only workaround I see is to use https://translate.bing.com,
Its translations are less interesting, but you can use the microphone.
Michel Gagnon
Montréal (Québec, Canada)

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests