MozillaZine

did firefox 79.0 return to normal?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
zivshosh
 
Posts: 63
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted August 5th, 2020, 11:32 pm

Greetings
OS: windows 10 pro
firefox: 77.0.1
Since last traumatic upgrade that eliminated my bookmarks toolbar, I refused to update.
Did ver.79 return to normal behaviour and let users stay with their bookmarks toolbar?
does firefox has an elegant solution to searching an html page (ctrl F) except using the bottom bar?
thank you

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 7:46 am

You can move the search bar to the top:

~/.mozilla/firefox/<user-profile>/chrome/userChrome.css
Code: Select all
/* --- Find bar to the top --- */
.browserContainer > findbar { -moz-box-ordinal-group: 0; position: fixed !important; }

about:config
Code: Select all
toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets -> true

zivshosh wrote:did firefox 79.0 return to normal?
The difficulty is to define what "normal" is supposed to mean.
If you are looking for better stability, you should use ESR releases (Extended Support Release):
Firefox ESR (actually, from 79, choose 78.1.0esr).

mightyglydd

User avatar
 
Posts: 9908
Joined: November 4th, 2006, 7:07 pm
Location: Hollywood Ca.

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 8:22 am

Thanks for that, older code I had was kaput and I hadn't bothered to search for new Image
#KeepFightingMichael and Alex.

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53221
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 1:38 pm

Do you have a problem with showing the Bookmarks Toolbar ?

Maybe try to rename (or remove) xulstore.json in the profile folder.
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_folder_-_Firefox

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted August 7th, 2020, 1:59 pm

To reset/refresh toolbars, I would advise to close Firefox, and delete this very long line in prefs.js in user profile.

Code: Select all
user_pref("browser.uiCustomization.state", "{ \"placements\":{..........[\"personal-bookmarks\"]....... [\"PersonalToolbar\"]... };

zivshosh
 
Posts: 63
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted August 15th, 2020, 12:56 am

Diorser
thank you for your answers
1) I didn't find in my userprofile chrome, or did you mean that I should add it?
2) made the change to about:config and it didn't help. do I have to save it anywhere? after closing firefox and rechecking it was still true
3) ver, 78.1.0esr is above my current version 77.0.1 hence again I'll probably lose my bookmark toolbar (it turned to menu instead of a bar)
thanks again

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11095
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted August 15th, 2020, 10:33 am

zivshosh wrote:... I'll probably lose my bookmark toolbar (it turned to menu instead of a bar)

Do you mean the items on your Bookmarks Toolbar no longer stay in the bar and show as a list that runs off the screen?

Do you use code in userChrome.css for a multi-row Bookmarks Toolbar?

Diorser

User avatar
 
Posts: 1003
Joined: June 22nd, 2005, 6:57 am

Post Posted August 23rd, 2020, 1:08 pm

zivshosh wrote:1) I didn't find in my userprofile chrome
This is normal.
'prefs.js' is not in the the chrome folder, but Firefox userprofile folder.

zivshosh
 
Posts: 63
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted November 18th, 2020, 2:07 am

many thanks to Diorser for instructing me to change location of the find bar.
it is a tremendous help
I'm still in ver. 77.0.1
Is ver.83 is normal in the sense that it will keep my bookmarks toolbar?
(last update to 79 changed boomarks to a side bar and I'd like them to stay as they are now)
thank you

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11095
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted November 18th, 2020, 2:09 pm

The Bookmarks Toolbar has not changed in Firefox 57-83: https://support.mozilla.org/kb/bookmarks-toolbar-display-favorite-websites (last edited in October 2017).

zivshosh
 
Posts: 63
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted November 19th, 2020, 12:07 am

thank you jscher2000
so probably what happened was added multi-row in userChrome.css like you guessed in an earlier reply
but than I didn't even have the chrome folder in user profile
will try again and report

zivshosh
 
Posts: 63
Joined: December 28th, 2011, 7:16 am

Post Posted November 19th, 2020, 3:29 am

indeed I updated from 77 to 83 and the bookmarks toolbar is still there
thanks!

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests