MozillaZine


Eats Memory (Linux)

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
borgward
 
Posts: 175
Joined: July 22nd, 2004, 2:36 pm

Post Posted August 29th, 2020, 3:06 pm

Linux Mint 18.0 Cinnamon. FF 80.0 for Linux Mint. FF uses up all my RAM (4GB) if I leave it running. I tried running it with only one blank tab, and no internet connection, and after a few hours FF will use up all my RAM. That's after shutting down, rebooting and opening FF

Does FF exhibit this behavior on Windows or Mac?
Last edited by DanRaisch on August 29th, 2020, 3:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: (Linux) added to subject line.

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124963
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 29th, 2020, 3:24 pm

Moving to Firefox Support as no specific bug has yet been identified here.

Have you tried starting Firefox in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode
If no improvement using Safe Mode, do you have the same problem if you create a new profile and test it with no extensions or non-default themes installed?
http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager

borgward
 
Posts: 175
Joined: July 22nd, 2004, 2:36 pm

Post Posted August 29th, 2020, 5:44 pm

http://kb.mozillazine.org/Profile_Manager#Warning

about:support

Help -> Troubleshooting Information. Clicking on that link launches an enhanced version of the profile manager. That is the easiest way to launch the profile manager. If you do that you don't need to read the rest of this KB article

Give FF a tuneup:
Refresh FF...Removes addon's restores settings to default.

How do I get those addon's and settings back?

Try Safe Mode - restarts with addon's disabled

How do I get my addon's back if I want them next time?

Try clearing the startup cache - restarts clearing cache.

How do I regain cache? Seems like I did that once before and spent a lot of time fiddling to get back to normal.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44270
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted August 29th, 2020, 6:12 pm

Starting in Firefox Safe Mode only disables the Addons for that session. It doesn't remove them or their settings
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 124963
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted August 30th, 2020, 3:43 am

malliz wrote:Starting in Firefox Safe Mode only disables the Addons for that session. It doesn't remove them or their settings


The images of dialogues in the article include the text "Your add-ons and custom settings will be temporarily disabled". [Emphasis added]

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests