MozillaZine

Profile name

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
ibewlu

User avatar
 
Posts: 214
Joined: February 5th, 2012, 5:24 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2020, 11:09 am

Firefox creates a profile name like mine "64oh53yo.default-esr" how can I change that name? The reason I want to do this is that I back up all the important data like "places.sqlite" and others. If for some reason I have to reinstall FF, which does happen because of corrupt files, then I have to go into my backup file and redo it. I am on Windows 10 and I tried changing the name at:
C:\Users\username\AppData\Roaming\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\64oh53yo.default-esr
C:\Users\rdwray\AppData\Local\Mozilla\Firefox\Profiles\64oh53yo.default-esr

but FF could not find the profile after I changed it.
It would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck, and he were thrown into the sea, than that he should offend one of these little ones.

gdot179
 
Posts: 218
Joined: September 18th, 2009, 3:01 pm

Post Posted September 10th, 2020, 11:19 am

Couple of ways.

firefox -p in terminal where it has a rename function.

profile.ini where the profiles are kept.
A proud user of Mozilla Python's Flying Circus software!

morat
 
Posts: 3936
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted September 10th, 2020, 11:19 am

Profile Manager - Create, remove, rename and switch profiles
http://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/pro ... x-profiles

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20519
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted September 10th, 2020, 1:24 pm

firefox -p in terminal where it has a rename function.

Huh? How do you do that? -p points to a Profile defined in profiles.ini.

(PS: Profiles need not be in %APPDATA%. Can be named & stored pretty much anywhere you want.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44134
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted September 10th, 2020, 4:00 pm

actually the correct way is run firefox.exe -p making sure to have the space between exe and -p
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53175
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted September 10th, 2020, 4:38 pm

The proper way to do this would be creating the profile folder with the desired name yourself in "AppData\Roaming" or in another location and then use "Choose Folder" when you create a new profile to make Firefox use this profile.
You can possibly copy certain files to the new profile to transfer personal data.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests