MozillaZine

Slow Firefox rendering; how to speed up?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 996
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 15th, 2020, 5:49 am

I have the newest updates for Firefox and for Windows 10. It seems to me that once Windows is open and I select FF from the toolbar, it takes quite a long time for FF to be fully rendered. How can I speed up FF's opening.
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v84, Edge v84, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Premium Security v20.6

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123858
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 15th, 2020, 5:50 am

Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 996
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 15th, 2020, 6:47 am

DanRaisch wrote:Does the same thing occur if you launch the application in Mozilla Safe Mode? http://kb.mozillazine.org/Safe_mode

Snappy opening when switched to Safe Mode. I do have quite a bit of customization including 33 addons. I believe that these addons are all "approved" addons.

EDIT: Interestingly, after checking Safe Mode and closing FF, when reopening in regular mode, it opened fairly fast?
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v84, Edge v84, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Premium Security v20.6

DanRaisch
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 123858
Joined: September 23rd, 2004, 8:57 pm
Location: Somewhere on the right coast

Post Posted October 15th, 2020, 10:10 am

No idea what happens with that but we've seen it happen in other instances.

Tushman
 
Posts: 197
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 7:50 pm

Post Posted October 15th, 2020, 3:32 pm

Flycaster wrote:I do have quite a bit of customization including 33 addons. I believe that these addons are all "approved" addons.


Just because they're "approved" add-ons doesn't mean your PC will start Firefox faster or in nominal amount of time. 33 add-ons is a boatload. Maybe you should think about upgrading your system RAM. Do you know how much your system currently has and the maximum it will accept? If you don't know the answer, you can go on Crucial's website and it will tell you.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 996
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 16th, 2020, 12:22 pm

Tushman wrote:
Flycaster wrote:I do have quite a bit of customization including 33 addons. I believe that these addons are all "approved" addons.


Just because they're "approved" add-ons doesn't mean your PC will start Firefox faster or in nominal amount of time. 33 add-ons is a boatload. Maybe you should think about upgrading your system RAM. Do you know how much your system currently has and the maximum it will accept? If you don't know the answer, you can go on Crucial's website and it will tell you.


My HP 750-114 came with 12GB of memory and can take a max of 16GB. Will an extra 4GB make a difference?
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v84, Edge v84, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Premium Security v20.6

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53218
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted October 16th, 2020, 1:21 pm

Are you restoring tabs from the previous session as it can take some time to reopen and render these tabs ?

Tushman
 
Posts: 197
Joined: May 4th, 2005, 7:50 pm

Post Posted October 16th, 2020, 1:23 pm

Flycaster wrote:
Tushman wrote:
Flycaster wrote:I do have quite a bit of customization including 33 addons. I believe that these addons are all "approved" addons.


Just because they're "approved" add-ons doesn't mean your PC will start Firefox faster or in nominal amount of time. 33 add-ons is a boatload. Maybe you should think about upgrading your system RAM. Do you know how much your system currently has and the maximum it will accept? If you don't know the answer, you can go on Crucial's website and it will tell you.


My HP 750-114 came with 12GB of memory and can take a max of 16GB. Will an extra 4GB make a difference?


Hey that's pretty good. 12 GB is an ample amount and I doubt that extra 4 GB will make any appreciable difference.

malliz
Folder@Home

User avatar
 
Posts: 44181
Joined: December 7th, 2002, 4:34 am
Location: Australia

Post Posted October 16th, 2020, 3:13 pm

32 extensions is not a massive amount but when you get problems usually its because you have one or more trying to do the same job. For example multiple addblockers and or script blockers. The old "speed Firefox" tips you see all over the internet rarely (never) do as advertised and playing around in about:config without a comprehensive manual is a recipe for disaster
What sort of man would put a known criminal in charge of a major branch of government? Apart from, say, the average voter.
"Terry Pratchett"

therube

User avatar
 
Posts: 20571
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Post Posted October 20th, 2020, 11:19 am

once Windows is open

So you're starting Windows (10) cold?
That is likely to be the issue, I'd think. Most likely there is so much crap going on (in the background) that most anything you do will be slow, until Windows actually finishes its' chores (of crap loading).

You could test starting up your computer & instead of opening your 33 extension profile, opening a (pre-existing, though) new, clean test profile instead. And if that too is still slow, it's Windows.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 996
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted October 20th, 2020, 1:08 pm

therube wrote:
once Windows is open

So you're starting Windows (10) cold?
That is likely to be the issue, I'd think. Most likely there is so much crap going on (in the background) that most anything you do will be slow, until Windows actually finishes its' chores (of crap loading).

You could test starting up your computer & instead of opening your 33 extension profile, opening a (pre-existing, though) new, clean test profile instead. And if that too is still slow, it's Windows.


I think you are right...just too much crap on opening. But, once opened, FF is now working reasonably fast.
Windows 10 H 64-bit, Quantum The Latest, Chrome v84, Edge v84, Thunderbird The Latest, Avast Premium Security v20.6

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests