MozillaZine

Make bookmark menus more wide?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2020, 12:36 am

I have some bookmarks with long descriptions.
When I click on the parent bookmark folder in bookmark bar then only the first approx 30 chars are shown.

Is there a way to make the bookmark sub menu more wide?
They should show at least 60-80 chars of a bookmark description

Thank you
Thomas

morat
 
Posts: 4104
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2020, 6:43 am

Try something like:

Code: Select all
.bookmark-item[container] .menu-iconic-text {
  max-width: 300px !important;
  width: 300px !important;
}

thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2020, 9:07 am

Ok, where (in which file) should I put it?

costark

User avatar
 
Posts: 400
Joined: July 14th, 2004, 5:03 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2020, 9:30 am

thoste wrote:Ok, where (in which file) should I put it?

Post if you use -- chrome\userChrome.css -- entries in the PROFILE to mod FF appearance - That you don't recognize Morat's coding here implies No.
Not hard to setup if you want to pursue it and similar entries affect Tab shapes, spacing, colors, URL & Search bar colors, having a bookmark Scroll bar, etc.

Below is a .css Coding Primer originally used to make FF Gray bookmark folders look like the old gold filing folders ala OfficeMax.
The Setup is what's important to get, and post back after reading for more relevant questions.
Read C & E (create a chrome folder and a userChrome.css File) first in the Primer for specifics.

At each use you'll open the userChrome file with Notepad and add Coding to affect some part of FF appearance, spacing, add Bookmark Scroll bar, etc.

viewtopic.php?p=14777671#p14777671
Last edited by costark on November 8th, 2020, 10:01 am, edited 2 times in total.
Firefox 83 - Win 10-1909 Pro - Diapers, Politicians, and the Media ... ALL Need Changing for the Same Reason - uBO - Cookie AutoDelete - Privacy Possum- LocalCDN - CSS Exfil - HTTPS Everywhere - SingleFile -

morat
 
Posts: 4104
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2020, 9:31 am

Remember to set the toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets preference to true, then restart.

thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2020, 2:26 am

ignore

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53221
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2020, 3:24 pm

Note that you set preferences via the about:config page.
https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/ab ... or-firefox

thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 9th, 2020, 9:42 pm

The folder "chrome" and a file "userChrome.css" does not exist here.
Should I simply create it?

morat
 
Posts: 4104
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 10th, 2020, 6:34 am

Yes.

How to create a userChrome.css file
http://www.userchrome.org/how-create-userchrome-css.html

You should create the chrome folder and userChrome.css file in the Firefox profile like you created the chrome folder and userChrome.css file in the Thunderbird profile in your other thread.

How to change font for preview pane in userChrome.css
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?f=39&t=3033461

thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 10th, 2020, 11:13 am

Ok, I did that all.

Yes, I switched toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets in about:config to "true".
And I even select (for test purposes) a value of 600px for menu width.
And I restarted Firefox v82.0.3 64bit under Win7.

BUT the (sub)menu width does not change.

Is it a problem that I am using the portable Firefox (from PortableApps)?

I put the file userChrome.css in <FirefoxFolder>\Data\profile\chrome\

Is there a way to find out (e.g. in logfile) if Firefox successfully recognized userChrome.css during startup?

Since I have to enable toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets
it let me think that there is a corresponding,new NON-legacy method to change the GUI.
How does this method work?

morat
 
Posts: 4104
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 10th, 2020, 12:14 pm

Check if the userChrome.css file is really in the chrome folder in the correct profile folder.

Menu Bar > Help > Troubleshooting Information > Profile Folder > Open Folder

The userChrome.css file name is case sensitive. Windows hides file extensions by default. Novice users may end up mistakingly naming the file userChrome.css.txt without realizing it.

Try testing another rule to see if the userChrome.css file is working correctly.

Code: Select all
* { background-color: orange !important; }

It may be that a syntax error earlier in the file is preventing the rule from being parsed.

Remember you must restart the application for the changes to take effect.

userChrome.css disabled by default
http://www.ghacks.net/2019/05/24/firefox-69-userchrome-css-and-usercontent-css-disabled-by-default/

dickvl

User avatar
 
Posts: 53221
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Post Posted November 10th, 2020, 9:22 pm

Also make sure that file is a plain text file without formatting or a BOM (byte order mark).
You can open the file in a Firefox tab as a test.

thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 12th, 2020, 2:35 am

Ok, I performed the "orange background" test from morat: Everything ok with THIS instruction.
That means everything ok with css file itself and directory and file name and file format.

However the menus are still at the same initial width

I just copied (again) the code from the second posting in this thread and pasted it into the same "orange background" file.
Its now the only statement beginning at Position 1 in line 1

Then restarted Firefox:

Result: NO change in menu width

Even when I change both values to 900px

I guess the menu statement seems to have an issue.

Could you re-check this?

I am using Firefox PortableApps v82.0.3 64bit under Windows 7

morat
 
Posts: 4104
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted November 12th, 2020, 7:19 am

Try this:

Code: Select all
/* Firefox userChrome.css */

@namespace url("http://www.mozilla.org/keymaster/gatekeeper/there.is.only.xul");

.bookmark-item[container] .menu-iconic-text {
  -moz-appearance: none !important;
  max-width: none !important;
  width: 900px !important;
}

I tested the styles. They work for me.

Sometimes a style doesn't work with a particular OS theme.

Firefox Portable 82.0.3
Windows 7 SP1 32-bit

thoste
 
Posts: 163
Joined: June 7th, 2003, 12:45 am

Post Posted November 23rd, 2020, 11:25 pm

@morat:

I observed that in your last post the code contains

max-width: none !important;

while in your first code suggestion

max-width: 300px !important;

Is this intention?

Both code suggestions still do not work.
I disabled all AddOns....it doesn't work.

Does your code apply only to certain parts of the bookmark directory tree and not to all (e.g. Bookmark toolbar + sub menus)?

Can I peek somewhere in a kind of Firefox startup log what Firefox thinks about the current userChrome.css file (what Firefox see as errors)?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests