MozillaZine


What genius decided to double space all menus?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
tnffuser
 
Posts: 197
Joined: December 28th, 2006, 9:02 am

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 7:34 am

Why did Mozilla double space menus?
Is this an error and 89 was rolled out too soon and will be corrected.

Richard1296
 
Posts: 90
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 7:44 am

Amazing how someone can always find a way to break something that wasn't broken.
Need to solv this real soo or it' s goodbye FF...

Richard

tattersford
 
Posts: 19
Joined: September 15th, 2013, 7:27 am

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 7:47 am

This restores a large degree of sanity...

https://github.com/black7375/Firefox-UI-Fix

Richard1296
 
Posts: 90
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 7:50 am

And what part of this do I use to remove the double spacing

Richard

morat
 
Posts: 4685
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 8:51 am

See the "Menu - Reduce Padding" section.

userChrome.css by black7375
http://raw.githubusercontent.com/black7 ... Chrome.css

There a browser.compactmode.show pref that shows the Compact mode in the Customize Firefox tab.

Mozilla decides to hide Compact Mode
http://www.ghacks.net/2021/04/07/mozill ... ting-ones/

jscher2000

User avatar
 
Posts: 11384
Joined: December 19th, 2004, 12:26 am
Location: Silicon Valley, CA USA

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 8:58 am

If you only want a fragment of code to tighten up menus, I have a couple lines here:

https://www.userchrome.org/firefox-89-styling-proton-ui.html#menuspacing

That goes into a userChrome.css file:

https://www.userchrome.org/how-create-userchrome-css.html

morat
 
Posts: 4685
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 9:21 am

There are a few browser.proton.* prefs that partially disable the proton theme.

* browser.proton.enabled
* browser.proton.contextmenus.enabled
Last edited by morat on June 1st, 2021, 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Richard1296
 
Posts: 90
Joined: July 29th, 2012, 2:25 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 9:25 am

Thanks jscher
Now... any way to alter the pale white background color in these menu's.
Just a slight change to a light grey.

Richard1296

Ortho_Fan
 
Posts: 256
Joined: December 7th, 2012, 4:49 pm

Post Posted June 1st, 2021, 1:39 pm

morat wrote:There are a few browser.proton.* prefs that partially disable the proton theme.

* browser.proton.enabled
* browser.proton.contextmenus.enabled


Many thanks for posting this. I called up about:config, and changed both to false. Now all the menus are, once again, single spaced--I can see all my bookmarks at a glance--and that annoying new tab box (with rounded corners) is gone.

OF

Zulithe

User avatar
 
Posts: 658
Joined: May 3rd, 2003, 5:45 pm
Location: San Francisco, CA

Post Posted June 2nd, 2021, 12:56 am

Why the push towards making everything feel fat and mashmallowy. On a touch device sure, but not standard desktop uses, and it's particularly aggravating on a laptop where space is even more of a concern. Thank goodness Firefox has such a great deal of customization or I'd have to move to something else.

I think the new theme is fine, my big gripe is the fat spacing on all the menus and such. Who decides these things? Plus they are wanting to phase out compact mode... geeze.

If I wanted bloated fat menus I'd use Edge. I'm glad Chrome hasn't succumbed to this design approach yet.

I just don't get how a browser that is trying to cater to a niche audience can be so deaf to what people want. There was a big thread on ghacks about this in April, they had plenty of time to adjust for it and didn't do a dang thing.

BuddhaNature

User avatar
 
Posts: 453
Joined: January 3rd, 2008, 9:44 am
Location: Scotland

Post Posted June 2nd, 2021, 4:53 am

Just updated to FF 89.0 64-bit -and I am not seeing this double-spacing issue at all. I also tried it in Safe Mode to see if the problem would be generated in that -- result, no issue. Makes me think that the double-spacing issues the folks here are experiencing might be down to something peculiar to their own systems.

I should say I'm on a Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64 system using Windows Classic theme. I notice that, so far, most of the complainants are using Windows 10 (that dog of a system might be the problem).

I also have no problems with the 'background colour' of the bookmarks menu -- it's grey (as per my Windows theme) as it has always been.

Have to say that I like the changes to the the rounded and so-called floating tabs and the minor changes to the look of the buttons and what is going on in the address-bar.
OS: Windows 7 Pro. SP1 x64

pepegot1
 
Posts: 393
Joined: December 23rd, 2008, 11:43 am

Post Posted June 2nd, 2021, 7:42 am

jscher2000, thanks for the script-just what I needed.

Anshe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 2nd, 2021, 8:49 pm

Post Posted June 2nd, 2021, 9:23 pm

Fixing this mess is a hassle. Apart from the spaced out format, the contrast is now quite poor. Grey text on a grey background is utterly stupid, and for people with poor vision, it's discriminatory. The bookmark order has been changed in that properties has been moved from the bottom where it was easy to find to the middle. True it's alphabetical but it's easier to find at the bottom. When a new tab is opened the link graphics are smaller.

For some reason, modern programs are invariably with smaller everything, icons that have to be remembered when words would be clearer, a lot of clutter, and other ways to adversely affect functionability. I've returned software because it was not fit for purpose, tiny black text on a brown background.

The new colour schemes are dismal. All I need is two colours, active tab and the rest.

aindriu
 
Posts: 1
Joined: June 3rd, 2021, 1:25 pm

Post Posted June 3rd, 2021, 1:29 pm

morat wrote:There are a few browser.proton.* prefs that partially disable the proton theme.

* browser.proton.enabled
* browser.proton.contextmenus.enabled


Thanks very much, I like the new look but the bookmarks are too bloated. It's a good fix but pity it didn't target the bookmarks only.

Ruth
 
Posts: 211
Joined: January 29th, 2004, 6:23 pm

Post Posted June 4th, 2021, 1:06 am

Thanks to everyone. For the most part I now have my old style back, less padding in menus and my tabs are connected, not rounded, and only the active tab has borders with no bottom border so the bottom border of the 'tab area' makes the tab a part of the whole across the browser border.

Can any tell me if there is a way to get rid of the change in color of the border around the url bar? It seems to be blue at certain times.

Thank you all!

Ruth

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests