MozillaZine


Firefox 90.0.1: Increase font for tabs, address and bookmark

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 22nd, 2021, 11:13 am

Got my menu bar's fonts just right, but the fonts on the bookmarks, address toolbar and tabs need to be made larger. I do not want to increase the size of any other text within FF. Thanks.
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 23rd, 2021, 4:53 pm

try
Code: Select all
menupopup > menuitem, menupopup > menu {
  padding-block: 2px !important;
  font-size: 16px !important;
}
/* add to the above
font-weight: bold !important
for phatness */

:root {
  --arrowpanel-menuitem-padding: 4px 8px !important;
}

/* 21/8/22 -- width of bookmark menu */
menu.bookmark-item, menuitem.bookmark-item {
max-width: 44em !important;
}


/* 21/8/22 -- urlbar font size */
#urlbar, #searchbar {
    font-size: 16px !important;
    font-weight: bold !important;
}

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 24th, 2021, 6:34 am

Nestea wrote:try
Code: Select all
menupopup > menuitem, menupopup > menu {
  padding-block: 2px !important;
  font-size: 16px !important;
}
/* add to the above
font-weight: bold !important
for phatness */

:root {
  --arrowpanel-menuitem-padding: 4px 8px !important;
}

/* 21/8/22 -- width of bookmark menu */
menu.bookmark-item, menuitem.bookmark-item {
max-width: 44em !important;
}


/* 21/8/22 -- urlbar font size */
#urlbar, #searchbar {
    font-size: 16px !important;
    font-weight: bold !important;
}


Nothing happened??? BTW, does one have to put @namespace..... as the first line of code? I didn't, just copied your code as is.
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2021, 8:28 am

Flycaster wrote:

Nothing happened??? BTW, does one have to put @namespace..... as the first line of code? I didn't, just copied your code as is.

should work, even if you have some type of other CSS theme running.
toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets I presume you have enabled?
you have other CSS code that you use?

>does one have to put @namespace..... as the first line of code?
no not anymore. this was used to distinguish between html and xul/xml back in the day.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 24th, 2021, 12:49 pm

Bingo, Nestea, I got it. And, being able to increase the sizes makes a very big difference when viewing on a 27" monitor. Not exactly sure what made things work, but here's what I did.

1. In general, I had deleted all previous codes and had been testing only one code at a time to avoid confusion. But, up til now, nothing worked.
2. toolkit.legacyUserProfileCustomizations.stylesheets was reset to true. Interestingly, there was another toolkit.xxxx that had been previously set to true, also. And when trying your code, I must have confused the two and had not reset the "stylesheets" one.
3. Finally, I had been moving the chrome folder around, not really sure where to place it within the Profile folder structure. So, now, I just placed it as a sub-folder of Profile. Previously, I had it as a sub-folder of the default profile.

Now, just a couple of questions:
1. If I want a font to be both bold and italic, looking at your code, do I just add italic after bold?
2. There seems to be two default profiles, each named with different number/letters. One's association is with ".default" and the other with ".defaullt-release". What's the difference?

Again, Nestea, thanks an awful lot for helping me muddle through all this.
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 24th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Flycaster wrote:.......
1. If I want a font to be both bold and italic, looking at your code, do I just add italic after bold?

yea exactly. you can search MDN for the modifiers
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... ont-weight
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... ont-weight
or https://www.w3schools.com/cssref/default.asp
for italic https://www.w3schools.com/cssref/pr_font_font-style.asp
I remember your profile pic from another thread and think I remember correctly you're an engineer. ? You should be able to deduce what to modify according to the small template I pasted.

Flycaster wrote:........
2. There seems to be two default profiles, each named with different number/letters. One's association is with ".default" and the other with ".defaullt-release". What's the difference?

about:support and
about:profiles is your friend
default-release, default-release-1; are additinal profiles. as to why you have them idk. maybe you did something with profiles at some point, installed an older/newer firefox version etc.

You can use more profiles by managing it yourself by modifying profiles.ini (just go one folder up from where you see the -release folders) and having your own shortcuts with: "C:\PATH\firefox.exe -p myprofile -no-remote".
That's what I do at least.
myprofile, a random word I used, is stored in the profile.ini file. it can be anything you set in there. In your case it's whatever is before ".default" sdlfkj34S.default for example

Firefox also has its profile manager, but I prefer to do it myself since it's a simple process and I don't have to worry about my main profile accidentally getting launched by a newer firefox version.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 26th, 2021, 5:51 am

Thanks for all your help, Nestea. Got the fonts in FF looking as I want them. But, there is on thing that does seem strange and that is when in the Reply field, Reply's toolbar's font size button (the one between URL and Font Color) is behaving strangely. Specifically, when hovering over the other buttons they turn red, this one doesn't and to begin with it says "Normal" with large font and a white background? Selecting it and choosing any of its option sizes doesn't change the button from Normal to the chosen size...the large Normal on a white background remains?
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 26th, 2021, 6:55 am

Flycaster wrote:.......
Specifically, when hovering over the other buttons they turn red, this one doesn't and to begin with it says "Normal" with large font and a white background? ........

Idk, paste your userchrome.css. either here in [code] tags or https://bin.snopyta.org/
Flycaster wrote:...the large Normal on a white background remains?

u need to Preview the text first. AFAIK it just inserts tags for you to insert text into and/or encloses text you already had selected.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 26th, 2021, 7:27 am

userChrome code:

menupopup > menuitem, menupopup > menu {
padding-block: 2px !important;
font-size: 16px !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
}

:root {
--arrowpanel-menuitem-padding: 4px 8px !important;
}

/* 21/8/22 -- width of bookmark menu */
menu.bookmark-item, menuitem.bookmark-item {
max-width: 44em !important;
}


/* 21/8/22 -- urlbar font size */
#urlbar, #searchbar {
font-size: 16px !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
font-style: italic !important;
}

/* Global UI font */
* { font-size: 12pt !important;
font-family: arial !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
font-style: italic !important!
}

As for "u need to Preview the text first. AFAIK it just inserts tags for you to insert text into and/or encloses text you already had selected," I now see the button's function, but when I select Reply to a post, that large Normal in a while background is still there? Perhaps, I should start a new thread about that.
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 26th, 2021, 10:05 am

oh this red you mean. I've never even noticed it. This is the forum's style, but if it really bothers you:
Code: Select all
.button2:hover  {color:black !important; border-color: black !important;}


as for the Normal issue.
you opening a bug report won't probably get fixed because it is working as intended. Maybe instead of Normal they would change it to 'Font/text size' but other than that..
Like I said it inserts tags or engulfs the user's selection.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 26th, 2021, 10:11 am

Nestea wrote:oh this red you mean. I've never even noticed it. This is the forum's style, but if it really bothers you:
Code: Select all
.button2:hover  {color:black !important; border-color: black !important;}


Thanks, but the red I was referring to was in the Reply's toolbar (like hovering over Img or URL would turn red) and not in the main toolbars.

as for the Normal issue.
you opening a bug report won't probably get fixed because it is working as intended. Maybe instead of Normal they would change it to 'Font/text size' but other than that..
Like I said it inserts tags or engulfs the user's selection.


In this screen shot you can get a better idea about Normal. It shows this way every time I select Reply. Is it really normal?

https://flic.kr/ps/3S5N54
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 26th, 2021, 12:29 pm

oh. that's what u mean.
actually this is jscher2000's code. seems like pages apply it too. funny

I didn't want to look into but
Code: Select all
menubar > menu > menupopup > menu, menu > menupopup > menuitem {
padding-block: 2px !important;
font-size: 16px !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
}

seems to work.

@Flycaster good catch btw. not sure if this also affects other websites and maybe it only affects mozillazine, bc it somehow uses the same selectors, but nice catch either way.

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 27th, 2021, 10:48 am

Nestea wrote:oh. that's what u mean.
actually this is jscher2000's code. seems like pages apply it too. funny

I didn't want to look into but
Code: Select all
menubar > menu > menupopup > menu, menu > menupopup > menuitem {
padding-block: 2px !important;
font-size: 16px !important;
font-weight: bold !important;
}

seems to work.

@Flycaster good catch btw. not sure if this also affects other websites and maybe it only affects mozillazine, bc it somehow uses the same selectors, but nice catch either way.


As this code is very similar to the code I have in place:
1. Is the code related to my "Normal" issue?
2. Do I just add it to the code that which is already in place? Or, do I replace the similar code that is already there?
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Nestea

User avatar
 
Posts: 164
Joined: February 8th, 2007, 2:45 am

Post Posted August 27th, 2021, 12:45 pm

>2. Do I just add it to the code that which is already in place? Or, do I replace the similar code that is already there?

yes. just replace the first line

Flycaster

User avatar
 
Posts: 1101
Joined: November 19th, 2008, 12:13 pm
Location: Boynton Beach, FL

Post Posted August 27th, 2021, 1:37 pm

Nestea wrote:>2. Do I just add it to the code that which is already in place? Or, do I replace the similar code that is already there?

yes. just replace the first line


Did as you suggested...just the first line was replaced with "menubar > menu > menupopup > menu, menu > menupopup > menuitem," but I don't think I see any difference in the outcome. Then again, was i supposed to?
Windows 11, FF Latest, Edge v94, Thunderbird Latest, Defender

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests