"Background Tasks Profiles" What is this?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
BuddhaNature

"Background Tasks Profiles" What is this?

Post by BuddhaNature »

I'm running Firefox 106.0.5 (64-bit) on a newly installed Windows 10 Pro 22H2 system. I'm completely new to Win10 so discovering things as I go.

Today I went to backup my Firefox Profiles folder and the two associated 'ini' files. This would be what I would normally backup when saving my Profile.

However, I now see there is a new folder at %APPDATA%\Mozilla\Firefox The new folder is titled Background Tasks Profiles. What is this folder? Does it only exist on Win10 systems? What do the contents of this folder do? Is it now necessary for me to have to backup this folder when backing up my User Profile?
therube

Re: "Background Tasks Profiles" What is this?

Post by therube »

> /Background Tasks Profiles/
> What do the contents of this folder do?

So just what is in there? What are the dates of said items?...
(Don't have it on my end.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript
dickvl

Post by dickvl »

See:
1775132 - Allow select background tasks to use a persistent/not ephemeral/not temporary profile
https://firefox-source-docs.mozilla.org ... oundtasks/
therube

Post by therube »

(Could some translate that into English?)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript
BuddhaNature

Post by BuddhaNature »

Holy whatever!!!! I agree with therube though thanks very much dickvl for at least pointing in a direction.