Extend Tab Bar to full width

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
WaltP
Posts: 81
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 11:31 am

Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by WaltP »

How can I get the Tab Bar to use the full window width? Currently, it's only 2/3 to 3/4 of the width wasting space.

FF107.0.1
User avatar
therube
Posts: 21703
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by therube »

about:config, browser.tabs.tabMinWidth, maybe set it to 360 or higher?

With that, you will not get very many tabs before hitting an overflow condition.

I guess what you're looking for is the tab to dynamically expand kind of thing - when an overflow condition does not exist, but it doesn't just do that.
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54145
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by dickvl »

The Tab bar should use the full width of the Firefox window unlike the width of a tab.
If that isn't that the case for you then you may have broken code in your userChrome.css.

Can you provide a screenshot ?
WaltP
Posts: 81
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 11:31 am

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by WaltP »

Uh, no.

Image
User avatar
xanthon
Posts: 405
Joined: December 17th, 2005, 11:55 pm

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by xanthon »

The tab bar is still there; the tabs don't fill it. I am using the same portion of the tab bar with 5 tabs. If I open another tab, more of the bar is used. I have 4 buttons in that space.
WaltP
Posts: 81
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 11:31 am

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by WaltP »

Of course it isn't filled. That's the problem. Maybe this image will explain better:

Image

I would like the tab bar to display the full width of the window like FFox used to. What can I look at
to see what is going on here?
User avatar
therube
Posts: 21703
Joined: March 10th, 2004, 9:59 pm
Location: Maryland USA

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by therube »

What version of FF are we talking?
Have you customized things via css or otherwise?
Does the same happen in Safe Mode?

Screenshot shows you are in an overflow condition (as the down-arrow displays), yet your tabs are not taking up the full width of your tab-bar.

So check your changes that you have made.

If you have made none, then most likely you have multiple "Flexible Space" added to the tabbar.
(That will do what you have shown.)

Go to Customize, & drag them out (of the tabbar), then you'll have full width.
(You'll have to drag each Flexible Space out separately.)
Fire 750, bring back 250.
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 6.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1.19) Gecko/20110420 SeaMonkey/2.0.14 Pinball CopyURL+ FetchTextURL FlashGot NoScript
User avatar
BruceAWittmeier
Posts: 3076
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by BruceAWittmeier »

Rename your userChrome.css to userChromeRen.css (or something) and restart the browser. Then retest.

https://i.imgur.com/fPn13jE.jpeg
I often take a long windy road to my destination. Upon arrival, I wonder how I missed the shortcut.
WaltP
Posts: 81
Joined: December 10th, 2007, 11:31 am

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by WaltP »

OK, I found it.
Since the explanations for userChrome,css values are not explained nor easily found, I had accidentally set the bar to 70%.

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.
User avatar
BruceAWittmeier
Posts: 3076
Joined: June 9th, 2008, 10:53 am
Location: Near 37.501685 -80.147967

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by BruceAWittmeier »

You're welcome. I am learning just how cryptic & dynamic they are. :)
I often take a long windy road to my destination. Upon arrival, I wonder how I missed the shortcut.
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54145
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Extend Tab Bar to full width

Post by dickvl »

You probably had changed a width: 100vw !important; property value.

Code: Select all

#TabsToolbar {
  width: 100vw !important;
}

#tabbrowser-tabs {
  width: 100vw !important;
}
Post Reply