Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Post Reply
Why difficult
Posts: 14
Joined: August 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by Why difficult »

I am using windows 7 and firefox 104 at the moment and there is no way to get rid of the text 'Mozilla Firefox' in the titlebar. I do not want to remove the titlebar, only just that text.

In previous versions like ff69 you could do that by:

Solution for ff69
C \ Program Files (x86) \ Mozilla Firefox \ browser \ omni.ja \ open omni.ja with winrar \ chrome \ nl or other language \ locale \ branding \ brand.dtd \ go in the text to: ENTITY brandFullName \ change text mozilla firefox \ save and close textfile \ winrar asks if the archive must be updated, yes \ leave winrar \ change the name onmi.ja in a different name like zomni.ja \ start firefox \ close firefox \ undo change name so change name back to omni.ja \ start firefox, if everything is good then the name 'Mozilla Firefox' has been changed.


But that doesn't work anymore and the add-ons don't work also.

Is there a way for example with css or in windows 7?
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by morat »

Mozilla developers stop using DTD files for localization. Try editing .properties and Fluent files in the <install folder>\browser\omni.ja archive.

view-source:resource:///chrome/en-US/locale/branding/brand.properties
view-source:resource:///localization/en-US/branding/brand.ftl

Remember to purge the caches using the -purgecaches command line option.

firefox.exe -purgecaches
FirefoxPortable.exe -purgecaches

Reference
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/se ... &case=true
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/se ... egexp=true
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/so ... ersion.txt

Remove brand.dtd as unused
http://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1789406
Why difficult
Posts: 14
Joined: August 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by Why difficult »

Thank you.

I didn't understand much of it because I am not a programmer. Don't even know what 'firefox.exe -purgecaches' means. How do you do that?

It seems that the text 'Mozilla Firefox' cannot be deleted at this moment.

I will wait for an add-on from someone or step by step instructions.
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by morat »

Firefox 69 path: chrome \ nl or other language \ locale \ branding \ brand.dtd

Firefox 104 path: chrome \ nl or other language \ locale \ branding \ brand.properties
Firefox 104 path: localization \ nl or other language \ branding \ brand.ftl

I don't know which file to edit, but it's either of those two.

...

Firefox has JavaScript caches, which are not reset on startup, the -purgecaches command line option clears these caches. The purpose of the JavaScript caches is to make the application start faster.

The -purgecaches command line option may not be necessary for localization changes, but I like to use it after I hack the omni.ja archives.

Firefox Command Line Options
http://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox/CommandLineOptions

User Guide for Command Line Arguments
http://www.computerchum.com/user-guide- ... n-windows/
User avatar
dickvl
Posts: 54163
Joined: July 18th, 2005, 3:25 am

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by dickvl »

This code in the Browser Toolbox gives you the window titles of the current window.
https://firefox-source-docs.mozilla.org ... er_toolbox
https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... nt/dataset

Code: Select all

var wd = Services.wm.getMostRecentWindow("navigator:browser");
var elm=wd.window.document.getElementById("main-window");
console.log("titleDefault:","\""+elm.dataset.titleDefault+"\"","titlePrivate:","\""+elm.dataset.titlePrivate+"\"","contentTitleDefault:","\""+elm.dataset.contentTitleDefault+"\"","contentTitlePrivate:","\""+elm.dataset.contentTitlePrivate+"\"");
You can set a specific title with this code:

Code: Select all

var wd = Services.wm.getMostRecentWindow("navigator:browser");
var elm=wd.window.document.getElementById("main-window");
elm.dataset.contentTitleDefault="CONTENTTITLE";
elm.dataset.contentTitlePrivate="CONTENTTITLE — Private Browsing";
Why difficult
Posts: 14
Joined: August 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by Why difficult »

@Morat
If I follow this link it says: press shift + F2 for command line options, but nothing happens when I press F2
(I am doing that in ff107 at the moment).
http://wiki.mozilla.org/Firefox/CommandLineOptions

If I paste -purgecaches in the cmd window then it says it is not recognized as a command.


@dickvl
When I press Ctrl + Alt + Shift + I then nothing happens.

I think that with Browser Toolbox you mean the inspector window (rightmouse button \ inspector)

In the inspector window I choose console and then copied the text and press enter, it gives the following:


Uncaught ReferenceError: Services is not defined
<anonymous> debugger eval code:1


Uncaught ReferenceError: Services is not defined
<anonymous> debugger eval code:1
debugger eval code:1:10
<anoniem> debugger eval code:1
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by morat »

@dickvl

That working for me.

Code: Select all

/* Firefox userChrome.js */

(function () {
  if (location == "chrome://browser/content/browser.xhtml") {
    try {
      var html = document.getElementById("main-window");
      html.dataset.titleDefault = "Cowabunga";
      html.dataset.titlePrivate = "Cowabunga";
      html.dataset.contentTitleDefault = "CONTENTTITLE \u2014 Cowabunga";
      html.dataset.contentTitlePrivate = "CONTENTTITLE \u2014 Cowabunga";
    } catch (aError) {
      Components.utils.reportError(aError);
    }
  }
})();
Test pages
https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-3.0.txt
https://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl-3.0.html
Why difficult
Posts: 14
Joined: August 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by Why difficult »

I have found the location of the text.

Firefox 104 path: localization \ nl or other language \ branding \ brand.ftl

Full path is:
C \ Program Files (x86) \ Mozilla Firefox \ browser \ omni.ja \ open omni.ja with winrar \ localization \ nl language \ branding \ brand.ftl


But I can't get rid of that last letter 'x'. So 'Mozilla Firefox' has become 'x'.
When I delete the 'x' then the name becomes {-brand-full-name}

A google searchresult for 'table' gives the following in the titlebar:
table - Google Search -- x


How to remove the 'x' and the '--'.
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by morat »

@Why difficult

AFAIK, Shift+F2 isn't a Windows shortcut.

How to open a cmd.exe window and use a Firefox command line option:

* press WinKey+R to open Run dialog box
* type cmd.exe
* and press enter to open cmd.exe window
* type cd /d C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox
* and press enter to change directory
* type firefox.exe --new-tab http://www.mozillazine.org/
* and press enter to open new tab
morat
Posts: 6432
Joined: February 3rd, 2009, 6:29 pm

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by morat »

@Why difficult

Try this:

Code: Select all

-brand-full-name = {""}
Syntax for empty string value
http://github.com/projectfluent/fluent/issues/73

Fluent documentation
http://firefox-source-docs.mozilla.org/ ... index.html

To remove the em dash unicode character, try editing the browser.ftl file in the <install folder>\browser\omni.ja archive.

view-source:resource:///localization/en-US/browser/browser.ftl

Firefox 104 path: localization \ nl or other language \ browser \ browser.ftl

Reference
http://searchfox.org/mozilla-release/so ... rowser.ftl
Why difficult
Posts: 14
Joined: August 6th, 2012, 1:23 am

Re: Remove text 'Mozilla Firefox' from titlebar

Post by Why difficult »

@Morat
Thank you

Yes that worked.
-brand-full-name = {""}

I removed all the em dash unicode characters in the browser.ftl file which was in that path: Firefox 104 path: localization \ nl or other language \ browser \ browser.ftl

All the '–' are now gone in the titlebar.
Post Reply