MozillaZine

Opening Up In New Tabs?

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
Matt182
Guest
 

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 7:10 pm

I KNOW there was a feature that let you do this in Firebird, but I got a new computer and can't find the setting. I have a Wireless Logitech Elite Mouse if that maters, and I want to make the middle click (scroll click) open links in new tabs.

Where is the feature, or was it disabled in Firebird 0.7 or something? (thats what i am using 0.7)

-Matt

MuldrzSiS

User avatar
 
Posts: 188
Joined: April 19th, 2003, 9:29 pm
Location: Middle-earth

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 8:00 pm

Hmm, I'm sure I remember seeing it, too. Perhaps it was built in? What happens when you just try to click with the scroll button?
Keep your forked tongue behind your teeth
Gandalf - The Lord of the Rings

dacovale

User avatar
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 6:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 8:45 pm

it should work by default.
if it doesn't, create user.js and put
Code: Select all
user_pref("browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick", true);

on a new line
I'm nice

Matt182
Guest
 

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:01 pm

dacovale wrote:it should work by default.
if it doesn't, create user.js and put
Code: Select all
user_pref("browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick", true);

on a new line


HOw would I do that? Im like not a programmer or anything. Where would i put that string?

dacovale

User avatar
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 6:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:05 pm

follow this link here that I also gave you in my previous reply.
there are instructions there on how to find the file, create it and edit it.
If you need more instructions after reading that help-doc ask again, and I'll help you.
I'm nice

iwmoz28
 
Posts: 10
Joined: November 2nd, 2003, 9:44 pm

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:09 pm

I notice many seem to have overlooked a neat(or sneaky if not so obvious) shortcut to manipulate the preferences - about:config.

Just type in "about:config" in the URL location field above. then type in "middle"|"wheel" in the "filter" field(another shortcut to find desired prefs) in this case to check out all the "middleclick"|"wheel" based preferences. You can modify, create or reset them without having to deal with opening/editting the user.js or other pref setting files.

thanks for your tips.

dacovale

User avatar
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 6:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:14 pm

yet another way, is to install the ChromEdit extension.
there's always more than one way to do things.

to use about:config, search for the string "browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick" and set it to true. (right-click to change value).

to use the extension, install it, goto "Tools" -> "Edit user files"

or do it the way i described through the link supplied above.

they're all equal. sort of.
I'm nice

Matt182
Guest
 

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:32 pm

dacovale wrote:yet another way, is to install the ChromEdit extension.
there's always more than one way to do things.

to use about:config, search for the string "browser.tabs.opentabfor.middleclick" and set it to true. (right-click to change value).

to use the extension, install it, goto "Tools" -> "Edit user files"

or do it the way i described through the link supplied above.

they're all equal. sort of.


It was already set to true, but yet it still doesn't work?

Matt182
Guest
 

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:36 pm

Ok, It was set to true
I added the file user.js in my defaults folder with the string in it.
It is still not working :(

Any ideas why it isnt?

dacovale

User avatar
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 6:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 5th, 2003, 9:39 pm

do you have TBE installed?
I'm nice

Matt182
Guest
 

Post Posted November 6th, 2003, 6:36 am

dacovale wrote:do you have TBE installed?


I am sorry I do not know what TBE is?

sensory
 
Posts: 11
Joined: November 6th, 2003, 8:55 am

Post Posted November 6th, 2003, 8:58 am

Matt182 wrote:
dacovale wrote:do you have TBE installed?


I am sorry I do not know what TBE is?

I'm guessing that he means <a href="http://white.sakura.ne.jp/~piro/xul/_tabextensions.html.en" target="_blank">Tabbrowser Extensions</a>. :)

dacovale

User avatar
 
Posts: 1106
Joined: March 19th, 2003, 6:14 am
Location: Sweden

Post Posted November 6th, 2003, 5:53 pm

so I did.
anyway, TBE can change quite alot in the browser.
I just thougt that... why the hell not. It should be able to change that too. But I guess not then, since you didn't have it installed.
I'm nice

Matt182
Guest
 

Post Posted November 8th, 2003, 2:39 pm

Ok, I still can't get them to work! I dont see that exact feature in TBE. The best i can find is:

ALT+Enter
Middle-Click on History
Middle-Click on Bookmarks

The only reason i use mozilla is because of the tabs and the fact that I could open them with my middle click. I really want to get this feature working because I use it on a daily basis when I visit msg boards.

Any other ideas? I am lost!

alcatraz52
 
Posts: 372
Joined: August 17th, 2003, 11:27 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2003, 2:54 pm

Do you have any Logitech software running?

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests