MozillaZine

Firefox interface font sizes are too small

User Help for Mozilla Firefox
johnation33
Guest
 

Post Posted November 7th, 2005, 9:57 am

Hi, my firefox browser's font sizes are too small. I know what your thinking, its not the actual website font sizes but the interface font sizes. For example, the titles of any tabs I open are very small and I have to squint to read. the address bar, where the URL is located, is a very small text thats hard for me too read. The File | Edit | View | Go | Bookmarks | Tools | Help options at the menu bar are very small text as well. How do I increase the text sizes for the interface?

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted November 7th, 2005, 10:41 am

The easiest way is to use a theme with big fonts. There are several available, including the SphereGnome set and HiVisGnome. See some of them here https://addons.mozilla.org/themes/showl ... gory=Large
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

johnation33
Guest
 

Post Posted November 7th, 2005, 1:23 pm

Any other possible way? I like the simple firefox theme and would not like to a plugin.

TheLoneHaranguer
 
Posts: 73
Joined: September 29th, 2005, 7:23 pm
Location: Orlando Fl

Post Posted November 7th, 2005, 1:51 pm

Rt. click on your destop>Rt. click propertys>click the appearence tab>click extra large fonts. This is what I did so i did not have to mess with chrome, config, or extensions. Works great,WinXpsp2 Fx 1.07
WinXP SP2 Home 512ram
PMCPU1.73 FFMozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.5) Gecko/20051111
SprintDSL

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted November 7th, 2005, 1:51 pm

It's not a plugin. Firefox is designed to have its user interface modified via chrome - this is what a theme does. You could make the alterations yourself if you were confident to modify your profile's UserChrome.css http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.cs ... ontent.css Otherwise the recommended way to do it is to use a theme.
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

Old Bozz
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 7th, 2005, 3:26 pm

hellene wrote:It's not a plugin. Firefox is designed to have its user interface modified via chrome - this is what a theme does. You could make the alterations yourself if you were confident to modify your profile's UserChrome.css http://kb.mozillazine.org/UserChrome.cs ... ontent.css Otherwise the recommended way to do it is to use a theme.

Add to userChrome.css. Adjust to your liking.

Code: Select all
/* Browser Fonts */
menubar, menubutton, menulist, menu, menuitem, textbox,
toolbar, .tab-text, tree, tooltip, sidebarheader, statusbar {
font-size: 9pt !important;
font-family: Times New Roman !important; }

hellene

User avatar
 
Posts: 5130
Joined: March 20th, 2005, 5:29 pm
Location: Bradford W.Yorks

Post Posted November 8th, 2005, 5:40 am

Thanks bozz - I knew someone would come along with the code snippet.

LoneHaranguer, I'm always a bit wary of allowing Windows to modify the way Firefox looks. I've seen disastrous effects reported previously, but if it worked for you then johnation may care to try it.
I don't know how to do any of this stuff, I just hire the guys that do
Have you considered reading the HELP folder. Right there on your menu bar.
Image by Juniper http onic.net/~daylight/ - Xmas special by Ol Grumpy

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39241
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2005, 9:19 am

The tip from LoneHaranguer will not work on Linux. :-)
I was searching for the same. Thanks.
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

Old Bozz
 
Posts: 0
Joined: December 31st, 1969, 5:00 pm

Post Posted November 8th, 2005, 3:29 pm

Happy to help. :)

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25729
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted November 8th, 2005, 3:36 pm

trolly wrote:The tip from LoneHaranguer will not work on Linux. :-)
I was searching for the same. Thanks.


Or if you have the GNOME Control Center you could go to Fonts Preferences and change the Application font/size since Firefox is a GNOME app on linux.

Otherwise you could.

gtk-font-name = "YourFontName FontSize"

so with something like "Sans 10" in the quotes,
into the file ~/.gtkrc-2.0

trolly
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 39241
Joined: August 22nd, 2005, 7:25 am

Post Posted November 8th, 2005, 3:55 pm

Thanks, James.
I'm running KDE (is KDE Gnome based?). I took a closer look at the settings in the "Control Center". There are options to change the font size. I'm a bit lazy to check all options before i really need them. :oops:
Think for yourself. Otherwise you have to believe what other people tell you.
A society based on individualism is an oxymoron. || Freedom is at first the freedom to starve.
Constitution says: One man, one vote. Supreme court says: One dollar, one vote.

James
Moderator

User avatar
 
Posts: 25729
Joined: June 18th, 2003, 3:07 pm
Location: Made in Canada

Post Posted November 8th, 2005, 4:37 pm

Firefox will not be affected by the KDE control module, but it will/can be changed in the GNOME Control Center since Firefox is a GNOME application, if you prefer the GUI way of changing the fonts.

KDE and GNOME are two diffrent desktops so to speak.

I'm using GNOME 2.12.0 : http://www.gnome.org/ http://www.gnome-look.org/ http://www.gnomedesktop.org/

KDE would be http://www.kde.org/ http://www.kde-look.org/ http://www.kde-apps.org/ for example.

There are other windowmanagers like Xfce, iceWM, Blackbox, Fluxbox, WindowMaker, etc. I used to use Xfce and iceWM a fair bit and diffrent versions of KDE tended to be a memory hog on my machine compared to the others.

It is Edit->Preferences on Linux due to the GNOME HIG as to why it is not Tools->Options in Firefox. (<-page may not load in right spot first time)
(*.mozillaZine.org is not Mozilla!)
The Complaint Department at Mozilla (current complaints) (<It is not a real complaint site but for jokes/testing of bugzilla).
The Complaint department link is borked until unknown time.

Return to Firefox Support


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests